Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Finance Videos

Disney earns fall but beat forecasts

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2013 - 01:31

Disney stock rose in after hours trading after its earnings came in better than forecasts, even as rising costs at ESPN weighed on results. Bobbi Rebell reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

PLEASE NOTE: THIS EDIT CONTAINS 4:3 MATERIAL Disney's quarterly earnings beat forecasts and revenue rose 5 percent- which was better than expected. But the results were lower than a year ago. One problem: rising costs for buying TV sports rights at its ESPN network- that was already known. But there are other concerns. Reuters' LA Bureau Chief Ron Grover: SOUNDBITE: RONALD GROVER, REUTERS LOS ANGELES BUREAU CHIEF (ENGLISH) SAYING: "The problem is the studio numbers still don't look great. Yes they told The Street that the studio's numbers weren't going to look great. But earnings were off by about 5%. That's a lot for the studio." Revenues were up in their parks and resorts division. Disney has been investing in new attractions and charging higher prices at its theme parks. Morningstar's Michael Corty: SOUNDBITE: MICHAEL CORTY, EQUITY ANALYST, MORNINGSTAR (ENGLISH) SAYING: "They made a lot of needed improvements to the park in Florida and I think that is going to benefit results in the Florida park for the next couple of years. And in California they have the "Cars Land" and that started benefiting Disney in the middle of 2012 and I'd expect that to continue through this year as well." Disney stock has been near record levels, and rose on the news. But it's fully valued according to Morningstar's Corty: SOUNDBITE: MICHAEL CORTY, EQUITY ANALYST, MORNINGSTAR (ENGLISH) SAYING: "We are telling our clients to basically hold the stock at this price. I think all the fundamentals for Disney are looking very strong but I believe a lot of that is priced into the stock at these levels. Disney also says it has sold out its advertising for the upcoming Academy awards.

Disney earns fall but beat forecasts

Tuesday, Feb 05, 2013 - 01:31

Money »

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Mon, Aug 04, 2014 - (2:19)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)