Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Money Clip

Don’t let reward points die with you – Money clip

Thursday, February 07, 2013 - 01:51

What happens to all the airline miles, hotel points and credit card rewards after you die? You'll need to jump through a few hoops to pass them on to your next of kin, reports Reuters’ Chelsea Emery. But the effort is worth it. (February 7, 2012)

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's seems as -- every store and every website has a membership rewards program in fact. On average each of us has that eighteen -- overall but what happens to all of those heart and points. When he -- Leaving someone your stamp collection area model train collection or even your house is at least four. But what about all those membership points first of if you decide to leave your points to someone lawyers advised not put it -- well. Instead like a special documents being attached to you -- Account numbers we want this points to go to and then attach it rather than including if you -- the beneficiary of these awards. Here are some things and now you're leaving after. And the -- testament. Not to let it proves that you or someone else is executives. To. You're going to need all the -- numbers person who has passed away you're going to need that person's address. And phone number and email associated with that account. If you don't have everything don't worry as much as he possibly can't airlines. Have the most lenient policy when it comes to transferring at this point one of the most difficult programs to transfer points. Our hotels programs. Mary it's very strict they will only -- points to be transparent if you're a spouse -- domestic partner. If you're neither one of those points just go -- credit cards can be a little more tricky. American Express rewards points. Can be transferred and you might have to contend with a couple of knows from American Express before you get to some yeses. If you first hear and know asked to speak to a manager. But enough time you can do it. And it's --

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Don’t let reward points die with you – Money clip

Thursday, February 07, 2013 - 01:51

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Why bruised Brazil is a buy Why bruised Brazil is a buy

Fri, Jul 19, 2013 - (2:48)

3 ways to fix your bond portfolio 3 ways to fix your bond portfolio

Thu, Jul 11, 2013 - (3:10)

The next gold? Diamonds lure investors The next gold? Diamonds lure investors

Wed, Jul 03, 2013 - (2:38)

How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 - (2:34)

How to play banker on the web How to play banker on the web

Tue, Jun 11, 2013 - (2:57)

3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally 3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally

Fri, May 24, 2013 - (2:11)

How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201 How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201

Tue, Apr 30, 2013 - (2:30)

Rising dollar will drive stocks higher Rising dollar will drive stocks higher

Wed, Apr 10, 2013 - (2:32)

A little-known path to big dividends - Investing 201 A little-known path to big dividends -...

Thu, Apr 04, 2013 - (3:16)

What exactly does Warren Buffett own? - Investing 201 What exactly does Warren Buffett own? -...

Thu, Feb 14, 2013 - (0:51)

Big short bets: Where are they now? - Investing 201 Big short bets: Where are they now? -...

Fri, Dec 21, 2012 - (2:33)

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, Dec 02, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, Nov 03, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, Oct 31, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, Oct 28, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)

360° snapshot of life in Kabul 360° snapshot of life in Kabul

Fri, Apr 04, 2014 - (1:26)

A blind teenager, living with vision A blind teenager, living with vision

Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - (3:51)

TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars

Wed, Mar 05, 2014 - (2:49)

TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees

Wed, Feb 12, 2014 - (2:55)

Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin

Fri, Feb 07, 2014 - (0:40)

TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet

Tue, Jan 14, 2014 - (3:28)

Pictures of the Year 2013 Pictures of the Year 2013

Fri, Dec 20, 2013 - (3:03)

Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum

Thu, Dec 05, 2013 - (6:11)

The Gettysburg Address The Gettysburg Address

Thu, Nov 28, 2013 - (2:31)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, Nov 20, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:02)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:40)

Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters Investigates Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (3:43)

Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (4:11)

Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became radicalized - Reuters Investigates Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became...

Fri, Dec 07, 2012 - (4:21)

Dateline Asia »

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

1:51am EST - (1:03)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:07)

Not all merry and bright in China's manufacturing sector Not all merry and bright in China's...

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:29)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, Dec 15, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, Dec 15, 2014 - (1:06)

Abe eyes big win in Japan election Abe eyes big win in Japan election

Sun, Dec 14, 2014 - (1:00)

Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame

Fri, Dec 12, 2014 - (1:40)

Asian markets rattled by oil price drop Asian markets rattled by oil price drop

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:14)

Final stand for Hong Kong's protesters Final stand for Hong Kong's protesters

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:21)

Asia markets stumble as oil tumbles Asia markets stumble as oil tumbles

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:15)

All eyes on upcoming Dalian Wanda IPO All eyes on upcoming Dalian Wanda IPO

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (2:52)

Final hours for Hong Kong protesters Final hours for Hong Kong protesters

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:57)

Anger at Japan's new state secrets law Anger at Japan's new state secrets law

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:33)

Charm offensive for KFC in China Charm offensive for KFC in China

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (2:13)

Pro-ISIS pockets at Kabul University Pro-ISIS pockets at Kabul University

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:46)

Volatility the new norm in China Volatility the new norm in China

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:44)

Investor feedback trimmed Dalian Wanda IPO Investor feedback trimmed Dalian Wanda IPO

Tue, Dec 09, 2014 - (4:26)

Revision into recession for Japan Revision into recession for Japan

Mon, Dec 08, 2014 - (1:39)

China's ex-security chief expelled and arrested China's ex-security chief expelled and...

Sat, Dec 06, 2014 - (1:21)

Hong Kong's radicals fight to the end Hong Kong's radicals fight to the end

Fri, Dec 05, 2014 - (1:37)

Thai king cancels birthday appearance Thai king cancels birthday appearance

Fri, Dec 05, 2014 - (1:42)