Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Lifestyle

For Dung beetles, survival is written in the stars

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2013 - 02:13

Feb. 12 - The African dung beetle uses the Milky Way for nighttime navigation, joining humans, seals and birds as the only creature to navigate by the stars. Scientists researching the creatures in South Africa, say its part of a survival mechanism that gives the insect its fastest route away from competitors. Ben Gruber reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Night time in Vryburg, South Africa and two dung beetles are engaged in a food fight. After the clash, the victorious insect scuttles away with its dung ball, searching for a safe place to eat his prize. Even in the dark of night, the beetle has a highly developed sense of direction, taking the straightest path away from its competitor. Biologists have long wondered how the beetles do it....and now they know. Dung beetles use the Milky Way as their guide. (SOUNDBITE) (English) MARIE DACKE, BIOLOGIST, LUND UNIVERSITY, SAYING: "Even if the beetle can't see the individual stars, they can still see this band of light and then they can either roll with the Milky Way, or across the Milky Way or at any angle to the Milky Way as they wish and thereby be able to keep a straight path even at night." Biologist Marie Dacke and zoologist Marcus Byrne decided to test the beetles' navigation skills in a controlled environment - so they took the insects to the Johannesburg planetarium - where realistic night time scenarios could be created. (SOUNDBITE) (English) MARIE DACKE, BIOLOGIST, LUND UNIVERSITY, SAYING: "..and then we could test the performance of the beetles under these different sky conditions and the night where we only had the Milky Way projected on to the planetarium dome the beetles were doing equally well as they were under a of full starry sky so that's when we understood that it must be the Milky Way that they are relying on to orientate themselves in straight lines." Marcus Byrne believes their findings demonstrate that tiny brains are no hindrance to intelligent behaviour. And Byrne loves dung beetles. No matter what, he says, the animal just keeps on rolling. (SOUNDBITE) (English) MARCUS BYRNE, ZOOLOGIST, UNIVERSITY OF WITWATERSRAND, SAYING: It's the tenacity of the dung beetle, it doesn't care where it is, whether it is day or night it's a great animal to work with." And now the researchers are trying to determine if the beetles navigation skills are effected by different surfaces and terrains. The bottom line they say is that it appears obvious, the beetle will do whatever's necessary to hold on to its dung.

For Dung beetles, survival is written in the stars

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2013 - 02:13

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)