Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Most Popular

Right-handedness as common among apes as humans

Sunday, Feb 17, 2013 - 01:51

Feb. 17 - A propensity for right-handedness is not a uniquely human trait but one shared by great apes, according to new research by a leading cognitive psychologist. The findings cast doubt on long-held assumptions that right-handedness was connected to the emergence of language in humans. Jim Drury has more.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

As distant relatives, Great Apes and humans have much in common...including a propensity for right-handedness. That's according to Dr Gillian Forrester, a senior psychology lecturer at London's University of Westminster. As part of a study into the differences between humans and other primates, Forrester and colleagues spent five years filming the hand actions of humans, gorillas, and chimpanzees. What they found came as a surprise - 90 percent of each species favoured their right hand when holding objects. Young gorillas like this had two cameras trained on them, so their behaviour could be contextualised. SOUNDBITE (English) DR GILLIAN FORRESTER, SENIOR LECTURER IN PSYCHOLOGY AT UNIVERSITY OF WESTMINSTER, SAYING: "This is a focal individual. If we want to learn about the behaviours of this individual we have a nice close-up view of this juvenile here, but we now understand that behaviour changes depending on the context, the social context, the environmental context of the animal, so we decided to add a second camera and that has a wider view, so it gives the social environment." Her results contradict the common assumption that right-handed dominance is linked to the emergence of language and is therefore unique to humans. SOUNDBITE (English) DR GILLIAN FORRESTER, SENIOR LECTURER IN PSYCHOLOGY AT UNIVERSITY OF WESTMINSTER, SAYING: "What my research has helped unravel is that human right-handedness is most likely inherited from a common human-ape ancestor and was linked to tool use well prior to the evolution of language and this is also fitting really well with archaeological evidence that now shows that humans have been right handed tool users for almost 2.5 million years but language only evolved around 100,000 years ago." Scientists have long been aware of the association between the left hemisphere specialisation for language in the human brain and human right-handedness. But now, Forrester's research raises new questions about how that association evolved.

Right-handedness as common among apes as humans

Sunday, Feb 17, 2013 - 01:51

Money »

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Mon, Aug 04, 2014 - (2:19)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)