Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Horsemeat scandal hits Nestle pasta meals

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2013 - 01:50

Feb. 19 - Nestle, the world's biggest food company, has removed beef pasta meals from sale in Italy and Spain after finding traces of horse DNA. Sonia Legg reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ATTN CLIENTS - UPDATED VERSION WITH NEW PICTURES OF RELEVANT PRODUCTS It's the home of pasta but even Italy is now embroiled in the horsemeat scandal that continues to spread across Europe. Two ranges of chilled pasta meals have been withdrawn from shelves in Italy and Spain. (SOUNDBITE) (Italian) WOMAN MAKING PASTA ANGELA PRESCURA SAYING: "This is wrong because every thing that is in the ingredient must be labelled. If ingredients aren't written clearly it can be dangerous." The meals were made by the world's biggest food company adding a new dimension to the ongoing crisis. Last week Nestle said its products were not affected. Now it says tests have found more than 1% of horsemeat in Buitoni Beef Ravioli and Beef Tortellini. A range of frozen Lasagne produced in France for the catering business has also been withdrawn. Food testing labs continue to be inundated and this new case again highlights the continent's complex food-processing chain. The Swiss-based company has suspended deliveries of all products made with beef from a German subcontractor. And Italy and Spain have now joined the UK, France and Germany, along with Finland, Sweden and Austria as victims of possible fraud. Italian shoppers say it's the deception that's the problem. (SOUNDBITE) (Italian) DOCTOR ALBERTO SCOPIETTA SAYING: "We have always eaten horsemeat without a problem but in this case it is fraud. It is one thing if I choose to buy it, quite another if I don't because a horse is too nice to end up in the frying pan." (SOUNDBITE) (Italian) PENSIONER ROSALBA RIZZO SAYING: "This is something that just shouldn't happen, what is in the food needs to be on the packet." Governments stress horsemeat poses little or no health risk. But the cost of the crisis is rising. Numerous supermarket chains and fast food outlets have now had to withdraw beef products. And with consumer confidence in processed food taking a battering, the biggest cost could be still to come.

Horsemeat scandal hits Nestle pasta meals

Tuesday, Feb 19, 2013 - 01:50

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)