Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

The Trail

Reuters Asks CPAC: Who is leading the Republican Party?

Friday, Mar 15, 2013 - 01:53

Reuters asks conservatives attending the 2013 meetings of CPAC who they think has taken the lead role in the GOP in the wake of the 2012 election losses.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

I think Rand Paul is one of the big leaders and Republican Party especially this anytime a guy gets credit terms which is really -- -- -- Barack Obama administration Rand Paul seems like somebody can reach across the -- looking -- elected. He seems like somebody should you have a look at some -- Comment sort of caused -- civilians there because he's been doing that he's been surely have a key for the sake of liberty. I'm only comes soon cutting spending the only ones -- advertisement in a military budgets when it comes into quarantine I think the reception at the moment is that there is no -- leadership which is we just noticed -- we're facing a situation where the ideal Republican policy could exist if only we could convince people that we're -- the -- actually like Bobby -- a lot better I think he's got some very good ideas on that don't just. Focus on complaining you know we have something -- complaints and and begin being the party of ideas and I think he's steering us towards that direction. Unfortunately I don't know that anybody's really leading the party and we're not we're not bleeding from a standpoint of messaging and we're not. We're accepting liberals premise that our leadership best. And I think that the people that are trying to be leaders. Like a Rand -- example -- or take cruiser might leave. I would like to see someone of that he'll step up but I don't know if the establishment is ready to accept. That type of conservatism or libertarian isn't as good as we go forward into 2014 and sixteen. When my favorites is ten braves he's -- -- -- and native Texan and sound and the Big Ten degrees and I think he really speaks that very. What we might I think Marco Rubio is a great representative for the party I think he allows us to bring. Our conservative values are conservative message to demographics that maybe I haven't heard -- or maybe even haven't necessarily consider listening to that message before.

Reuters Asks CPAC: Who is leading the Republican Party?

Friday, Mar 15, 2013 - 01:53

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)