Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Entertainment

Selena Gomez and Vanessa Hudgens grow up in "Spring Breakers"

Friday, March 15, 2013 - 01:26

Mar. 15 - Selena Gomez and Vanessa Hudgens joined James Franco on the red carpet for the Los Angeles premiere of their very grown up film, ''Spring Breakers.'' John Russell reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Selena Gomez and fellow Disney alum Vanessa Hudgens appeared all grown up on Thursday night as they arrived on the red carpet for the premiere of their new film, "Spring Breakers." The movie, which generated a strong buzz at the Venice film festival, is directed by Harmony Korine and stars Gomez and Hudgens as bikini-clad revelers on a drink-and-drug-fuelled orgy of beach parties and pranks. Gomez who plays Faith, the least wild of a group of four young college students on their mid-term "spring break," talked about her decision to leave her Disney image behind. SOUNDBITE Selena Gomez saying (English): "I guess I really don't know, I'm trying to do the best I can. I wanted to do something that was really creatively an outlet for me to really be liberated. I was part of a series that I am so thankful for the past four years and it was incredible. I don't know, I think I am just trying to figure it out. I don't think there is a right or wrong answer." Hudgens, whose sex scenes with co-stars Ashley Benson and James Franco's characters pushed boundaries on the film, admitted that she placed a lot of faith in director Harmony Korine. SOUNDBITE Vanessa Hudgens saying (English): "I don't think anything can prepare you for working with Harmony Korine. He is a special director, he does his own thing everyday. I'd get to the set and think that I am doing one thing and then will be doing something completely different. It was fun and liberating, he kept us on our toes." "Spring Breakers" also stars Ashley Benson and Rachel Korine. The film opens on March 22.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Selena Gomez and Vanessa Hudgens grow up in "Spring Breakers"

Friday, March 15, 2013 - 01:26

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)