Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Impact Players

Ackman: Wachovia windfall took just hours

Friday, April 05, 2013 - 02:26

Activist investor Bill Ackman tells Reuters Impact Players host Robert Wolf that while he can take months to painstakingly vet a company before taking a position, one of his best investments took only four hours of research in the midst of the financial crisis. Wolf is an outside adviser to President Barack Obama.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

One of the best investments remained. Took us four hours to do work. Was on my Blackberry. Eating breakfast the Brooklyn diner. From my building and restore went across the just to read the Wall Street Journal -- -- Reuters headlines he's. When across saying it. That Citigroup to acquire the Wachovia banking subsidiaries for two dollars and Citigroup's stock stock was halted. This is kind of an interest and transaction because you're buying -- subsidiaries for Citigroup's stock. For -- interest in what happens to the holding company and back -- that you know I went upstairs the office. And -- cracked open the ten K and another member of the team it require. You know I worked on it and what was interesting is. The thousand page ten K Wachovia Corp. the 900 pages on the but thanks to -- There's no fewer than a hundred pages on the holding company. And by buying the banking subsidiary of city was leaving holding company which had. Cash. Known Wachovia securities IAG Edwards paid 67 billion for six months before. Evergreen asset management. And they are taking a 27 billion dollar loss on the sale was sitting here. And it can also had a liability called non cumulative perpetual preferred stock which you've ever wanna have a liability your life this is the single greatest liabilities Hannity. It's former equity we never have to pay a dividend and we don't pay them and accumulate in the worst cases they get a couple directors the board and -- -- each meaning. And you have this very expensive but this could be our our Berkshire half and in the day we figured the asked you know and four hours from his term -- -- -- worth at least eleven to fourteen dollars. Cash tax refund that you need to carry about twenty billion dollar. Loss recover cash taxes have been paid -- this cash vehicle it Wachovia securities wishes of you know good wealth management business. You don't AG Edwards another interest them ask that you these are businesses you know well. And other stock opened after it was halted -- dollar for which it looked -- you know eleven to fourteen dollars for. But 42% of the volume for the next four days. That was acquired by and wells came in and put in the topping bid of seven dollars and Wells -- stock which wasn't actually topping it. But the -- or revealed that our government assistance.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Ackman: Wachovia windfall took just hours

Friday, April 05, 2013 - 02:26

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)