Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

World at Risk: Reform in China? Don’t hold your breath

Friday, Apr 05, 2013 - 02:25

April 5 - China’s new leaders are chips off the old block, not reformers, but Abenomics just might work for Japan, says Nomura's Alastair Newton in part two of our look at country risk in Q2.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's. -- For recruitment for a proper equipment for the -- if. I'm yet to be persuaded that -- I think it's time for. Changing -- and the remaining members of the standing commitment -- -- actually had to work very hard on us support. To get into the positions which they occupy today. That suggests that they will have a certain degree of the -- antithesis. To what one -- Diplomacy vested interest in China. I suspect that what we're gonna see is a group of seven individuals who -- going to continue to be reactive rather the product it. In the face of increasing. Challenges in China. Economic. Demographic social and of course a civil society which is becoming more -- mobile vibrant. The tendency perhaps it's going to be some results nationalism which. Trust like it's as simple terms -- Japan bashing -- -- -- some of the tensions and to move forward slightly with reforms. So there are some issues which went -- The financial system load of this credit around right banking system. We are detecting signs in China's financial sector similar -- -- which preceded the collapse in Japan. And the the US and Europe more recently so we do expect to see some reactions that that it quickly tightening monetary policy in the coming months. And a slowdown in growth in the second half yet. To seven point 3% and Bobby. Options of -- has been very successful it's walking down the yen. Without having very much and credits him for that it is helping him to achieve. Some of its objectives may -- I think the reality of it is this. Credit to operate for trying to make a difference. Off to Japan has been in the doldrums for South -- but this is a harvest -- -- in my view. Particularly since clarified his. -- since operational control. -- -- aspects was the topic of its right. We could be looking at a forty to 50% increase in the cost of imported energy that you over the space of sixty some -- months. That would not a serious dent in should step up its plans.

World at Risk: Reform in China? Don’t hold your breath

Friday, Apr 05, 2013 - 02:25

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)