Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Moments of Innovation

Plant surface inspires trap for bedbugs

Monday, Apr 15, 2013 - 01:36

April 15 - Researchers in the US are attempting to produce a synthetic material that can stop bedbugs in their tracks. The scientists want to replicate the bedbug-trapping properties of the bean plant leaf in a non-biological material that won't beak down, and help alleviate a problem that has bugged America's cities for years. Rob Muir reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

PLEASE NOTE: THIS EDIT CONTAINS CONVERTED 4:3 MATERIAL Bed bugs are a scourge of big cities around the world. As their name suggests, they live and breed in and around bedding in the home, feeding on the blood of their sleeping hosts by night and hiding by day. New York City spends tens of millions of dollars every year on controlling the pests but now, scientists including Catherine Loudon from the University of California at Irvine, are working on a more effective, but less expensive weapon in the war on bedbugs. They are developing synthetic versions of the bean leaf..traditionally used in the Balkans as a bedbug control measure. SOUNDBITE) (English) CATHERINE LOUDON, SENIOR LECTURER SOE, ECOLOGY & EVOLUTIONARY BIOLOGY AT UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA - IRVINE, SAYING: "When you put a bedbug on a bean leaf, it can take take a few steps and it starts to struggle and invariably becomes entrapped." The bedbug falls victim to microscopic filaments that protrude from the leaf surface. They either impale the bug or wrap themselves around the insect's feet. Loudon and her colleagues think they can replicate the effect with a more durable, synthetic material. She says the results of initial experments have been promising. (SOUNDBITE) (English) CATHERINE LOUDON, SENIOR LECTURER SOE, ECOLOGY & EVOLUTIONARY BIOLOGY AT UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA - IRVINE, SAYING: "Much to our surprise, when we ran the bedbugs on these artificial surfaces, they would get snagged which was very promising and exciting. They didn't impale them like the real surfaces. There's still a couple of material properties that we have not yet captured and duplicated in our synthetic mimics, that's obviously the next step." Leading, hopes Loudon, to the last step the begbug ever gets to take.

Plant surface inspires trap for bedbugs

Monday, Apr 15, 2013 - 01:36

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)