Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top Videos

Amazon profits beat; Starbucks stays hot

Thursday, Apr 25, 2013 - 02:33

April 25 - Summary of business headlines: Amazon earnings top forecasts, but sales lag; Starbucks revenues up in key U.S. segment; Verizon hires advisers to prepare for Verizon Wireless bid; Jeremy Siegel sees Dow 18K by 2014. Conway G. Gittens reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Encouraging data on the labor market helped give stocks a minor lift. But there was another market glitch - this time the Chicago Board Options Exchange - was shut for more than three hours due to a software glitch. After the bell: Profits at Amazon.com came in way ahead of forecasts, but sales, though up 22 percent, did not live up to expectations. Amazon is predicting a loss for the current quarter when it comes to operating income. Amazon is investing big in original programming and content acquisitions for its Prime Instant Video Service. Starbucks posted a higher quarterly profit and revenues - up 11 percent thanks to resilience in its key U.S. market. Ahead of that: Profits at UPS beat targets. The No. 1 package delivery company cites "a stronger than expected post-holiday season." Sales and earnings at 3M weaker than expected and the company is cutting its full-year profit forecast - pinning part of the blame on a stronger dollar. Profits per share topped the consensus view for ExxonMobil thanks only to a stock buyback. One final corporate story of note: Two sources say Verizon has hired advisers to put together at a $100 billion bid to buy the rest of Verizon Wireless from partner Vodafone. Spokespeople for all three companies declined to comment on the report. Jobless claims surprisingly dropped by 16,000 last week. The data are boosting optimism April job creation was as good as expected. That sent the S&P 500 and the Nasdaq rallying for a fifth day in a row, while blue chips are up four of the past five sessions. Noted stock market watcher Jeremy Siegel is out with a new prediction. SOUNDBITE: JEREMY SIEGEL, WHARTON PROFESSOR, UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA (ENGLISH) SAYING: "I'm predicting actually that the Dow will reach somewhere between 16,000 and 17,000 by the end of this year. And has a chance at 18,000 by the end of 2014." "What we're going to see is people losing their fear of the stock market, finally saying: 'That's the only place I can go now for rising dividends, for decent yields; bond market is dangerous, the other markets are dangerous,' And I think that that movement towards equities is going to be the driving force." Finally, most markets in Europe - up for a fifth day as the U.K. avoids a triple-dip recession.

Amazon profits beat; Starbucks stays hot

Thursday, Apr 25, 2013 - 02:33

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)