Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Finance Videos

Bailout fears for Britain's Co-op Bank

Friday, May 10, 2013 - 01:45

May 10 - The head of Britain's Co-operative Bank stands down after Moody's downgraded its debt rating to junk status, highlighting the difficult regulatory environment for small banks. Melanie Ralph reports that the bank may need a government bailout.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

British banks are back in the spotlight. CEO of The Co-operative Bank Barry Tootell stepped down following a downgrade from Moody's - who said the local bank's balance sheet leaves them vulnerable to losses. Industry sources say Co-op's shortfall could be up to 750 million pounds. That's left investors worried the Co-op might be the next to ask for help from the government. Britain's Finance Minister George Osborne say the regulators will be keeping a close eye on the Co-op's future plans. (SOUNDBITE)(ENGLISH) BRITISH FINANCE MINISTER GEORGE OSBORNE SAYING: "The Co-op have put out a statement last night about how they're going to strengthen their capital position, those plans, like the plans of any bank will be supervised by our new independent PRA, the Prudential Regulatory Authority" In a bid to avoid another Lehman style collapse in the banking world, British regulators are clamping down, and have asked banks to bolster their capital. City trader Joe Rundle says that's making life difficult for small UK banks. (SOUNDBITE)(ENGLISH) JOE RUNDLE, HEAD OF TRADING AT ETX CAPITAL SAYING: "The regulations that are being put on them in the banking environment it's very very tough to make money. So I think they will have to raise some capital. I think the CEO stepping down today is not a helpful move and will maybe give a little bit of panic into the system that could actually self fulfill the need for capital and external support." Questions were raised about the bank's financial health last month when it pulled out from buying over 600 Lloyds branches. And the downsizing looks set to continue. The bank said it's looking to sell its general and life insurance businesses that some estimate could raise over £800 million, as it seeks to strengthen its balance sheet. In a bid to reassure customers, the Co-op are tweeting that they will not be needing a government bailout despite the piling pressures.

Bailout fears for Britain's Co-op Bank

Friday, May 10, 2013 - 01:45

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Dateline Asia »

Sterling jumps, on Scottish vote Sterling jumps, on Scottish vote

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (2:56)

Rare rock on the block in Hong Kong Rare rock on the block in Hong Kong

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (1:43)

Alibaba IPO is 'overhyped': Mark Mobius Alibaba IPO is 'overhyped': Mark Mobius

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (4:13)

China tech players chip away at Alibaba China tech players chip away at Alibaba

Wed, Sep 17, 2014 - (4:02)

Breakingviews: India hits Japan/China radar Breakingviews: India hits Japan/China radar

Tue, Sep 16, 2014 - (2:20)

Asia corporate sentiment is slipping Asia corporate sentiment is slipping

Tue, Sep 16, 2014 - (1:36)

Alibaba's China roadshow Alibaba's China roadshow

Mon, Sep 15, 2014 - (2:16)