Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Techquity: Big data play for Facebook

Friday, May 10, 2013 - 02:04

May 10 - Reuters Breakingviews Columnist Rob Cyran gives his take on Facebook's potential purchase of Waze and Carl Icahn's latest offer for Dell.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Finding ways around FaceBook humorous thoughts about Facebook's possible purchase of the Israeli tech company. We told yesterday about a report it was offering a two billion dollars for ways in essence by traffic. Facebook's all about Internet traffic and now once again the car kind. Ways offers -- GPS the cell phone users and they collect stand queries as are and whether they're backed up so why is it worth a billion bucks. Well people who download weighs on their phones give permission to be tracked at -- valuable input for FaceBook which wants to sell location based advertising. What's more ways is business is built on making sense a giant sets of data. FaceBook collects a torrent of data users every day. Social network needs all the helping get turning this information into a bigger business shares today are down 1% -- a bullet twice and bucks. The best the rest -- down between four billion dollar buyout by silver lake and founder Michael Dell still isn't wrapped up. The latest twist Carl -- southeastern asset management had proposed a rival it. With their offer shareholders get to keep their stock and get twelve dollars in cash or more stock. This may sound great compared to silver -- 1213 dollars and 65 cents per share offer but icons got a history of flaky bits that didn't pan out. And the plan would leave investors holding company and a crumbling business for the -- balance sheet. The fact Dell's stock hasn't reacted much trading below thirteen dollars and fifty cents implies investors don't think Icahn's bid has much of -- -- succeeding. Couple chip stocks are soaring and -- today first Nvidia. Graphics chip firm beat street estimates -- posted higher margins. This came even as the PC industry loses ground stops at 4%. And sputtering Tara -- Israeli chip company reported a drop in profit and revenue amid declining sales to micro technology. NASDAQ listed shares -- down 4%. I think we it is Friday -- can call us on Twitter RT RS technique I'm rob Syrian. And this is writers.

Techquity: Big data play for Facebook

Friday, May 10, 2013 - 02:04

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)