Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Finance Videos

Cool data takes heat off Fed

Thursday, May 30, 2013 - 02:52

May 30 - Three data points out Thursday ranging from housing to unemployment to overall economic growth all point to a slower recovery, which means talk of the Federal Reserve soon stepping on the brakes may be overblown. Havovi Cooper reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Every day the market wonders...will the Fed wind up its money drops anytime soon? Thursday's verdict: Probably not. The latest data show the economic recovery isn't as robust as many think. A preliminary reading on first-quarter GDP missed estimates. Jobless claims rose last week. Even housing, oh yeah, the sector that has performed so well that some people are now forecasting a bubble...even that disappointed investors. April's drop in pending home sales shows that not all areas of the U.S. are partaking in the housing boom...sales in the south and the West are lagging behind. Chris Whalen of Carrington Investment Services says-read between the lines and the economy doesn't seem so strong. SOUNDBITE: CHRIS WHALEN, HEAD OF INVESTMENT BANKING OPERATIONS, CARRINGTON INVESTMENT SERVICES (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Regardless of what the statistics say, regardless of whether we take food and energy out of the inflation numbers we all know the reality. We're not seeing enormous or any real growth in income but we have rising costs, so consumers are being pressed by those factors and so are corporations." But wait...it can't all be bad news right? After all the S&P 500 is seeing its longest rally in 4 years, with the index up 16 percent year to date. That rally, though, is powered by the Fed. Any talk of curbing the moolah, as we've seen, will result in a sell-off. Yelena Shulyatyeva of BNP Paribas says QE3 is here to stay. SOUNDBITE: YELENA SHULYATYEVA, U.S. ECONOMIST, BNP PARIBAS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "I think the economy still needs Fed's support and just to give an idea, the final sales reading in today's GDP report was revised up to 1.8% from 1.5% in the first quarter and at 1.8 it is still below what the Fed thinks is the potential growth of the economy. So by definition they still need to stimulate the economy." So the million dollar question, or shall we say the 85 billion dollar question is, when will the Fed stop pampering the markets? SOUNDBITE: YELENA SHULYATYEVA, U.S. ECONOMIST, BNP PARIBAS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Our essential case scenario is that the Fed will not be ready to taper at the September meeting and they'll probably wait until they get slightly more evidence that the economy is doing better. And they'll probably wait until the December meeting to start slightly removing this highly accommodative stance." At the end of the day, the guide post has been given --until the payroll numbers improve Bernanke & gang will have to keep dropping cash into the economy.

Cool data takes heat off Fed

Thursday, May 30, 2013 - 02:52

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)