Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

The Trail

NSA snooping foiled "dozens" of plots - director

Wednesday, June 12, 2013 - 03:10

The super-secret National Security Agency's director, General Keith Alexander, told a Senate panel that newly-outed domestic surveillance programs have helped stop ''dozens'' of terror events in the U.S. and abroad. (June 12, 2013)

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's dozens. Of terrorist events that these have helped. -- prevent it. It's very very difficult I think. To have a transparent debate. About secret programs approved by a secret court issuing secret court orders. Based on secret interpretations of the law I want the American people to know that we're trying to be transparent here. Protect civil liberties and privacy but also this. Here in this country I'm trying to look at the resonate background for this individual who had access. To this highly classified information it's such a young age. Was limited. Educational and work experience part of it as a security guard. And ask you if -- trouble I do that concerns about that over the process senator I have great concerns over that. That they can -- the access that he had. The process that we did and those are things that I have to look into it and picks from my hand and -- cyber arena. Some of these folks have tremendous skills to operate networks he had great skills in that area we keep hearing Snowdon has. And skill so -- maybe did. You know which is quite sure swimmer. And -- champion swimmer doesn't mean we orderly wouldn't see the concern here. That the American public is fearful. That in this. Massive amount of data you'd get that theirs the ability of the federal government to synthesize. That data. In the end. Blurt something more. Then maybe what was ever. Contemplated by the Patriot Act the methodology would be let's put into a secure environment. Call detail records. These are two from records so we don't know anything it's in their we will search that unless we have some reason electrical suspicion. About a terrorist related organizations. We have to prove that we had that. Then given that we can now look and say who with this guy talking to in the United States and why. Yeah so the system just gives us back who it was talking to but he didn't collect it. How do you know who he was talking. -- walking you're you're walking a very difficult tightrope here. Because. There -- demands that you release. Previously classified. Information. To not just members of congress. But to the general public. And without it and if you don't do that this frenzy of mischaracterization. Of these programs will continue in the public I would rather take a public meeting -- people think I'm hiding something. Then to jeopardize the security of this country. Having said that some of this is out there in his right that we have that debate. And so what makes sense to put out there so that people know that what we're doing is right. We got to do that.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

NSA snooping foiled "dozens" of plots - director

Wednesday, June 12, 2013 - 03:10

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)