Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Stocks enjoy best three-day surge of 2013

Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 02:11

June 27 - Summary: Wall St extends a recovery as more Fed officials provide clarity on the possible scaling back of extra stimulus and data on housing, labor, and consumers show modest economic growth. Conway G. Gittens reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The S&P 500 sprints higher in the best three-day run in at least a year as investors continue to reduce fears of a near-term exit of Federal Reserve easy money policy. Blue chips had their first three-day triple-digit winning streak of 2013. The Nasdaq tacked on roughly another 0.8 percent; extending gains for a third day. It's all about the language. Federal Reserve officials on the speaking circuit are sending a clear message: the Fed will ease up on buying $85 billion in bonds to shore up the economy - but the time is not now and will only happen when data dictate. Fed Governor Jerome Powell was just one of the day's speakers. SOUNDBITE: FEDERAL RESERVE GOVERNOR JEROME POWELL (ENGLISH) SAYING: "I want to emphasize and over-emphasize the importance of data over date. If The Committee's outlook is broadly realized there will likely be a moderation of purchases later this year. If the performance of the economy is weaker, The Committee may delay before moderating purchases or even increase them. And if the economy strengthens faster than The Committee anticipates the pace of purchases may be moderated somewhat more quickly." And for now, the numbers suggest the recovery at least has found some stability. Jobless claims fell more than expected last week as investors gear up for the monthly jobs report due out a week from Friday. Consumer spending jumped in May as incomes saw the biggest rise in three months. And then - there's housing. Pending home sales surged to their best level in 6-1/2 years. But gold prices continue to plunge. Gold futures temporarily dropped below $1200 an ounce, something not done in almost three years. After the close, Nike beat Wall Street's profit and sales targets. Labor strikes may have faded from the headlines but Europeans are still upset about budget cuts. About 3,000 Portuguese marched through the streets of Lisbon, blaming government cutbacks for the country's worst economic slump in about four decades. As for markets - no protest from European buyers - with stocks mostly higher across the board.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Stocks enjoy best three-day surge of 2013

Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 02:11

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)