Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Entertainment

Elie Saab brings royal touch to Paris haute couture show

Wednesday, Jul 03, 2013 - 01:22

July 3 - The Lebanese designer showcases pieces fit for a queen on the catwalk during Paris Fashion Week. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT. NO REPORTER NARRATION. Elie Saab's opulent Autumn/Winter 2013-14 collection brought a touch of royalty to the catwalks of republican France on Wednesday (July 3). A crowning glory of the French capital's haute couture fashion week, the collection channeled deep jewel colors as well as pale, sheer grays -- all with a touch of sparkle. Saab told Reuters that he had tried to imitate precious stones in the highly sequined embroidery of the clothes as well as in their block colors. "I want to present a collection like a jewel collection, for this I have the color of jewel(s), like the rubies, emerald, and the sapphire and the diamond, in the collection. And we try to do also embroidery, it's like diamond and like precious stones," he said. The Lebanese designer added that haute couture was an environment where the imagination could run wild. "For me, haute couture means special, because it's really spectacular dresses for truly special occasions. Always majestic, always beautiful, always limitless," Saab told Reuters TV. While the eye-catching deep red, blue, green and crystal-colored dresses could delight any modern princess, utility was also a watchword with creations featuring pockets large enough to store a tiara or two. Hair was parted on the right and slicked back into simple plaited buns and make-up was pared down to keep attention on the decadent gowns, the majority of which draped down to the floor. Designs featuring full or three-quarter-length sleeves were common, as were backs revealed by teardrop or deep V shaped cutaways. Saab's sparkling collection came on the fourth day of Paris' haute couture extravaganza which kicked off on Sunday (June 30) with Versace's Autumn/Winter catwalk.

Elie Saab brings royal touch to Paris haute couture show

Wednesday, Jul 03, 2013 - 01:22

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)