Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Stocks rally in short day; oil tops $102

Wednesday, Jul 03, 2013 - 02:11

July 3 - Summary: Stocks post modest gains with faster private hiring partly offset by slower service sector growth; Oil temporary tops $102 on Egypt; Hospital stocks ill on healthcare reform delay. Conway G. Gittens reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Stocks close the holiday-shortened session off the highs of the day, with economic data giving investors some encouragement. The Dow rose 56 points, the S&P 500 gained a point and the Nasdaq was up 10 points. More on the economy in a few seconds, but first - political uncertainty in Egypt. The country's national security advisor says a military coup is underway. U.S. crude jumped as high as $102 by the time of the early stock market close - a 14 month high. Back to the U.S.: the White House is delaying parts of the Affordable Care Act for a year. There is some fear that without the reform, hospitals won't get paid by the millions of Americans who are uninsured or underinsured. Hospital operators like Tenet, Universal Health, Health Management and HCA Holdings all down more than 3 and 4 percent. Rounding up the day's economic reports: Private hiring grew more than expected in June. Layoff announcements were up last month, but down for the first half of the year. And initial jobless claims dropped for the second week in a row. This is still a slow-healing jobs market, says Rutgers University professor and labor economist - Bill Rodgers. SOUNDBITE: WILLIAM RODGERS, PROFESSOR/LABOR ECONOMIST, RUTGERS UNIVERSITY (ENGLISH) SAYING: "We are improving but it's an economy that's, I would say, still stuck in third gear. We haven't seem to have found that new catalyst to help to propel and be that new engine of growth." In other June data: growth in the services sector - the slowest in more than two years. Meanwhile, the U.S. trade deficit swelled in May due to a surge in imports and weak demand abroad for U.S. products. One more piece of economic news: mortgage applications dropped last week -dented by higher borrowing costs. In Europe: A flare-up in Portugal bond yields caused a headache across the region - stocks in Germany, France and the U.K. each down more than 1 percent.

Stocks rally in short day; oil tops $102

Wednesday, Jul 03, 2013 - 02:11

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)