Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Stocks dip; Yahoo outlook disappoints

Tuesday, Jul 16, 2013 - 01:50

July 16 - Summary: S&P 500 ends eight-day rally; Yahoo tops forecasts but next quarter could disappoint; Goldman shares fall despite easy beat; AT&T sets plan for frequent device upgrades. Conway G. Gittens reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Investors decide it's time to take a break from buying one day after the S&P 500 hit an eight-day winning streak. The losses, though, were minimal with financials giving back just a little of their recent run-up. After the close, Yahoo profits, ex-items, were in line. Sales were slightly ahead but its current quarter revenue forecast, excluding costs to drive eyeballs to its site, was at the low end of analysts' consensus. Meanwhile, Goldman Sachs easily beat sales and profit targets. The Wall Street bank rolled-in enough dough before the bond market turmoil at the end of the quarter. Profits doubled, but Goldman is not vastly outperforming peers like it once did, says Reuters Breakingviews' Antony Currie. SOUNDBITE: ANTONY CURRIE, ASSOCIATE EDITOR, REUTERS BREAKINGVIEWS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "They are basically in-line if you look compared to last year or the first quarter. Their equities trading is up or down compared to which you bank you look at a little bit, but not much." And that may be one reason why an initial pop in the stock gave way to a 1.7 percent drop. Coca-Cola missed forecasts due to weakness around the globe, claiming weather had a lot to do with that. Hate that two-year smartphone contract - AT&T will let U.S. smartphone users upgrade their phone annually - but it's going to cost. Under that plan, the full price of the phone will be paid by the customer, no subsidy, and spread out in monthly payments. T-Mobile announced a similar plan and industry leader Verizon is expected to follow. When it comes to the economy: homebuilder sentiment jumped to a 7-1/2 year high, higher gasoline prices pumped up consumer inflation in June, and industrial production rose after not moving the month before. Auto sales in Europe had their worst first-half of the year in two decades. Autos was just one of the sectors leading to a down day for stock markets in the region.

Stocks dip; Yahoo outlook disappoints

Tuesday, Jul 16, 2013 - 01:50

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)