Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Breakingviews

Breakingviews: Broke and broken Detroit

Friday, July 19, 2013 - 03:17

July 19 - Jeffrey Goldfarb talks to Breakingviews columnists about the Motor City's record-breaking bankruptcy filing and the creative solutions that will be necessary for it to recover.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Motor city is bankrupt and wheels in motion to you to go through all the radio I'm -- nations have a bankruptcy. Preceding negotiating with creditors and all look stuff but I -- this is really going to be a lot more than you're sort of garden. Right bankruptcy. The fans heading to one Connecticut -- shares with -- you know -- municipalities accompany -- and gone bankrupt credit that they have put a lot of maturity good including -- -- his right. Is that they have a lot of debt right timing the bankruptcy process will help -- kind of scrapped that -- -- big bad Archie said between pensioners. And file folders right but the issue is the -- are much bigger than just getting we have those obligations or did you cook is obviously zero if you told yourself have I mean. They just don't have the revenues when you compare them with similar size to analyze cities like Boston. That there revenues about half of what boss that's taking it yet this city is about. 50% average double the size you know carrier life. You've spent some time mariners' such about the electricity but that's partly because I'd like to soft sort of stepped out of basically if you run in the center of the city -- -- there's -- lots going on this -- you've got a couple of look at this is Quicken Loans for example -- put a little buildings and where people that it is great peak sign up among buildings and councils to Detroit. Some positive custody of working up -- this is private sector. To the people living in in minutes of that. So did some pretty good errors in the middle what it's good to get to a young if you -- unsecured debt -- chief wrench you can buy it right and you're not gonna saw it. Police medical or deny our people -- you know insurance is going to -- at an event that. I think when I was -- that last Jennings it was a commitment to overcoming this for these young people when they have kids this no education and ran outside. It's a very itinerant community which doesn't help with the long term -- the city. There is this like fantasy -- of like oh we'll just take over these abandoned factories and turn them into Elofsson. Police are looking at this again this is an industrial city and is toxin. That's how do you reject the creativity I mean obviously you need all the standard financial types and their kind of -- count but how do you get through this this whole other outside the box create significant need. In to a bankruptcy progress I mean this is the thing I think this is gonna have to happen and someone outside the bankruptcy process and maybe Beckett and he gives them a little breaking and to come up with an idea and I think again like you have the private sector and -- entrepreneurs there. Thinking outside the box if you subscribe to experience broken that's right and they need to fix the windows to bring people and the people fix the little things which stand right in Detroit they're gigantic paper that we have factories that are abandoned we have I think that it's 78000. Buildings that are have been -- impolite or band that's a half of them -- danger again I think. -- -- down just tearing down through the rubble. Costs what at least one Eagleton was it two years of total written this up we bring this forget and -- -- but it's just it's it's. I could only possible for the city to pay for the yet at the same time -- that revenues going down -- Texas going down a city point 6% over the past ten years and what you look at. The only revenue distancing statements from from the casinos -- that's going next Canada across the river as it. Not a recipe here this little guy right there aren't gonna leave it bearable we will be back with more breaking news next week.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Breakingviews: Broke and broken Detroit

Friday, July 19, 2013 - 03:17

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Why bruised Brazil is a buy Why bruised Brazil is a buy

Fri, Jul 19, 2013 - (2:48)

3 ways to fix your bond portfolio 3 ways to fix your bond portfolio

Thu, Jul 11, 2013 - (3:10)

The next gold? Diamonds lure investors The next gold? Diamonds lure investors

Wed, Jul 03, 2013 - (2:38)

How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 - (2:34)

How to play banker on the web How to play banker on the web

Tue, Jun 11, 2013 - (2:57)

3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally 3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally

Fri, May 24, 2013 - (2:11)

How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201 How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201

Tue, Apr 30, 2013 - (2:30)

Rising dollar will drive stocks higher Rising dollar will drive stocks higher

Wed, Apr 10, 2013 - (2:32)

A little-known path to big dividends - Investing 201 A little-known path to big dividends -...

Thu, Apr 04, 2013 - (3:16)

What exactly does Warren Buffett own? - Investing 201 What exactly does Warren Buffett own? -...

Thu, Feb 14, 2013 - (0:51)

Big short bets: Where are they now? - Investing 201 Big short bets: Where are they now? -...

Fri, Dec 21, 2012 - (2:33)

Money Clip »

How to get out of debt How to get out of debt

Thu, Oct 30, 2014 - (3:37)

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

How to break your prenup - Money Clip How to break your prenup - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 07, 2013 - (1:18)

Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip

Thu, Feb 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip

Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - (3:41)

Moving Pictures »

Images of December Images of December

Tue, Dec 23, 2014 - (0:30)

Tsunami - unclaimed possessions Tsunami - unclaimed possessions

Tue, Dec 23, 2014 - (2:23)

Images of November Images of November

Tue, Dec 02, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, Nov 03, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, Oct 31, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, Oct 28, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)

360° snapshot of life in Kabul 360° snapshot of life in Kabul

Fri, Apr 04, 2014 - (1:26)

A blind teenager, living with vision A blind teenager, living with vision

Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - (3:51)

TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars

Wed, Mar 05, 2014 - (2:49)

TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees

Wed, Feb 12, 2014 - (2:55)

Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin

Fri, Feb 07, 2014 - (0:40)

TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet

Tue, Jan 14, 2014 - (3:28)

Pictures of the Year 2013 Pictures of the Year 2013

Fri, Dec 20, 2013 - (3:03)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, Nov 20, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:02)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:40)

Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters Investigates Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (3:43)

Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (4:11)

Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became radicalized - Reuters Investigates Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became...

Fri, Dec 07, 2012 - (4:21)

Dateline Asia »

China's graft busters on the hunt China's graft busters on the hunt

Tue, Dec 23, 2014 - (2:22)

East meets west in Club Med bidding war East meets west in Club Med bidding war

Mon, Dec 22, 2014 - (2:07)

Sinking Jakarta embarks on seawall project Sinking Jakarta embarks on seawall project

Thu, Dec 18, 2014 - (2:22)

No Christmas easing from the Bank of Japan No Christmas easing from the Bank of Japan

Fri, Dec 19, 2014 - (1:59)

North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source

Thu, Dec 18, 2014 - (1:10)

China's house prices fall again China's house prices fall again

Thu, Dec 18, 2014 - (1:10)

China's child labor problem China's child labor problem

Thu, Dec 18, 2014 - (2:19)

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, Dec 17, 2014 - (1:03)

Russia worries rock emerging markets Russia worries rock emerging markets

Wed, Dec 17, 2014 - (1:14)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:07)

Not all merry and bright in China's manufacturing sector Not all merry and bright in China's...

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:29)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, Dec 15, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, Dec 15, 2014 - (1:06)

Abe eyes big win in Japan election Abe eyes big win in Japan election

Sun, Dec 14, 2014 - (1:00)

Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame

Fri, Dec 12, 2014 - (1:40)

Asian markets rattled by oil price drop Asian markets rattled by oil price drop

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:14)

Final stand for Hong Kong's protesters Final stand for Hong Kong's protesters

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:21)

Asia markets stumble as oil tumbles Asia markets stumble as oil tumbles

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:15)

All eyes on upcoming Dalian Wanda IPO All eyes on upcoming Dalian Wanda IPO

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (2:52)

Final hours for Hong Kong protesters Final hours for Hong Kong protesters

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:57)

Anger at Japan's new state secrets law Anger at Japan's new state secrets law

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:33)

Charm offensive for KFC in China Charm offensive for KFC in China

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (2:13)

Pro-ISIS pockets at Kabul University Pro-ISIS pockets at Kabul University

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:46)

Volatility the new norm in China Volatility the new norm in China

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:44)