Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

U.S. Week Ahead: GDP, Jobs and D-Day for Dell

Friday, Jul 26, 2013 - 02:29

July 26 - Economists expecting meager growth when second quarter GDP is released, but factory jobs are improving. Michael Dell tries one more time to convince shareholders to approve his buyout plan.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Next week it's all about the Fed jobs and buy out deal that just can't seem to get done. Delayed twice already Michael Dell may have to turn up the charm by next Friday's planned on taking his company pride that. He did exactly thrilled shareholders by not offering a poultry ten cent a share increased this week. -- partners overly are demanding that shares they had not been voted on not becoming against him. Com's investor Carl Icahn who treated this week all -- well Adele is Michael and board bid farewell and he was a poet. Our -- reporters I'll be watching for any news from this special board committee prior to Friday's vote. Dell shares have fallen roughly 3% this month now about 85 cents below Michael Dell's thirteen dollars and 75 cents offer. And if you're wondering what can be bought around ten cents I hit the streets of New York City to see what I can buy with a dime. Make -- to catch on video on Reuters dot com. And it's a big week for basic data on Wednesday we get our first look at second quarter GDP. I have -- as the US economy likely expanded just seven tenths of a percent. That's a significant slowdown from Q1 and marks the third straight quarter of growth below 2%. And on Friday it's the jobs report July nonfarm payrolls are forecast to rise by 185000. That would be the smallest gain since March but. Bright spot could come from the manufacturing sector I -- looking for factory jobs to post their first gain in five months. All that got as -- for the Fed which will start its two day policy meeting on Tuesday with the future of the stimulus program on investors' radar. Forget tapering. The buzz around this who will take up the reins when Bernanke leaves town. Former Treasury Secretary Larry Summers and current fed vice chair Janet Yellen have emerged as the top two candidates. The White House has said it has not made a final decision. And watch for earnings from sprint Comcast and the big oil companies next week be sure to watch US morning call for the latest. You can follow us on Twitter at Reuters Insider and get more of our video that Reuters dot com spot -- TV I'm putting mom. -- --

U.S. Week Ahead: GDP, Jobs and D-Day for Dell

Friday, Jul 26, 2013 - 02:29

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)