Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Europe Day Ahead: UK firing on all cylinders?

Thursday, August 01, 2013 - 02:10

Aug. 1 - Construction PMI data may show the UK firing on all cylinders ahead of U.S. nonfarm payroll numbers. Meanwhile Lufthansa earnings may stall and RBS could know its next boss.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

-- hopes the focus on both sides of the Atlantic tomorrow US nonfarm payrolls once again the focus for investors everywhere. Analysts polled by Reuters expecting a slow pace of job creation this month but the surprise -- GDP earlier this week makes an upside surprise that possible. I'm -- james' -- one analysts expecting an above consensus number. The lead in case is being seen so far are encouraging the ADP payrolls number yesterday was 200000 after a 190000 the previous month so that's. Historically been the single best lead indicates a fifth implement price consumer confidence is still pretty strong as well so -- suggest that households. Increasingly relaxed about financial prospects and and and and ask for more inclined to spend say. I think that is supposed to sign that -- as they were looking for quite a decent -- -- some of -- around -- 100000 outsmart. The UK hoping for fresh signs of growth tomorrow as well construction PMI numbers full cost and higher above the fifty point mark. The second now seen contributing to growth off to many months of contraction. Monday's PMI numbers for the dominant services sector. Even more important -- just producer price numbers due from the eurozone prices seen flat or slightly higher in June after -- the month before. At a busy week for European earnings comes to an end with -- -- -- Roger numbers -- towns are among those reports. Operating profits in front of around 600 million euros for Europe's biggest airline sluggish demand in Europe and fierce competition from low cost rivals delivering drank that we will talk. To the chief financial officer Simone amendment at 8:15 tomorrow morning London time -- so watch out for numbers from IAG's parent company British Airways. And Iberia. Meanwhile I'll -- yes the next big British bank to report focus that Arizona. Who will be the bank's next boss some speculation Stephen -- successor could be announced on results study. The race still seen -- close contest between internal and external candidates also tomorrow to count the numbers from insurers accept an Alley almost. And sat phone operator in -- -- That's -- look ahead to Friday's market moving events. I'm actual growth which is runs.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Europe Day Ahead: UK firing on all cylinders?

Thursday, August 01, 2013 - 02:10

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Why bruised Brazil is a buy Why bruised Brazil is a buy

Fri, Jul 19, 2013 - (2:48)

3 ways to fix your bond portfolio 3 ways to fix your bond portfolio

Thu, Jul 11, 2013 - (3:10)

The next gold? Diamonds lure investors The next gold? Diamonds lure investors

Wed, Jul 03, 2013 - (2:38)

How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 - (2:34)

How to play banker on the web How to play banker on the web

Tue, Jun 11, 2013 - (2:57)

3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally 3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally

Fri, May 24, 2013 - (2:11)

How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201 How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201

Tue, Apr 30, 2013 - (2:30)

Rising dollar will drive stocks higher Rising dollar will drive stocks higher

Wed, Apr 10, 2013 - (2:32)

A little-known path to big dividends - Investing 201 A little-known path to big dividends -...

Thu, Apr 04, 2013 - (3:16)

What exactly does Warren Buffett own? - Investing 201 What exactly does Warren Buffett own? -...

Thu, Feb 14, 2013 - (0:51)

Big short bets: Where are they now? - Investing 201 Big short bets: Where are they now? -...

Fri, Dec 21, 2012 - (2:33)

Money Clip »

How to get out of debt How to get out of debt

Thu, Oct 30, 2014 - (3:37)

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

How to break your prenup - Money Clip How to break your prenup - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 07, 2013 - (1:18)

Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip

Thu, Feb 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip

Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - (3:41)

Moving Pictures »

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, Oct 28, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)

360° snapshot of life in Kabul 360° snapshot of life in Kabul

Fri, Apr 04, 2014 - (1:26)

A blind teenager, living with vision A blind teenager, living with vision

Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - (3:51)

TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars

Wed, Mar 05, 2014 - (2:49)

TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees

Wed, Feb 12, 2014 - (2:55)

Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin

Fri, Feb 07, 2014 - (0:40)

TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet

Tue, Jan 14, 2014 - (3:28)

Pictures of the Year 2013 Pictures of the Year 2013

Fri, Dec 20, 2013 - (3:03)

Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum

Thu, Dec 05, 2013 - (6:11)

The Gettysburg Address The Gettysburg Address

Thu, Nov 28, 2013 - (2:31)

Making Gruyere: A family affair Making Gruyere: A family affair

Wed, Oct 16, 2013 - (5:06)

Abortion: After the decision Abortion: After the decision

Tue, Sep 17, 2013 - (5:46)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters Investigates Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (3:43)

Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (4:11)

Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became radicalized - Reuters Investigates Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became...

Fri, Dec 07, 2012 - (4:21)

Counselor: Jihad Jane at 17 - Reuters Investigates Counselor: Jihad Jane at 17 - Reuters...

Thu, Dec 06, 2012 - (4:17)

Dateline Asia »

Breakingviews: Fleeting QE gains bring emerging market pains Breakingviews: Fleeting QE gains bring...

Wed, Oct 29, 2014 - (2:05)

Regulatory clarity needed on China stock connect -StanChart Regulatory clarity needed on China stock...

Mon, Oct 27, 2014 - (2:56)

Breakingviews: HK-Shanghai disconnect disappoints on reform Breakingviews: HK-Shanghai disconnect...

Sun, Oct 26, 2014 - (2:46)

Asia Week Ahead: Honda air bag crisis to deflate earnings? Asia Week Ahead: Honda air bag crisis to...

Fri, Oct 24, 2014 - (1:52)

FACTBOX: Japan's Abe loses two female ministers in one day FACTBOX: Japan's Abe loses two female...

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:20)

Breakingviews: Indonesia's Jokowi has a parliament problem Breakingviews: Indonesia's Jokowi has a...

Sun, Oct 19, 2014 - (2:19)

Investment Strategies: Don't worry, buy emerging markets Investment Strategies: Don't worry, buy...

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (3:58)

Breakingviews: Worse troubles than Agile brewing in China Breakingviews: Worse troubles than Agile...

Sun, Oct 12, 2014 - (2:35)

NBA's Brooklyn Nets hope to boost global profile in China NBA's Brooklyn Nets hope to boost global...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:09)