Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Technology

How to grow spinach on Mars

Tuesday, August 06, 2013 - 01:49

Aug. 6 - A team of Greek university students has won an award from NASA for their design of an autonomous greenhouse to produce spinach on Mars. The concept is comprised of a solar powered system enclosed in a dome that nurtures and protects the leafy green vegetable as it grows. Ben Gruber reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Mars may be a desolate planet..but a team of Greek students believe they can bring a touch of green to the Red Planet. Their idea is called "Popeye on Mars". It's a self-supporting greenhouse, designed to supply visiting astronauts with that famously healthy vegetable - spinach. The enclosed system reproduces the conditions needed for photosynthesis, utilizing the sun's rays ..and according to Lydia Polyzou, will operate autonomously. (SOUNDBITE) (Greek) TEAM MEMBER AND ENGINEERING STUDENT LYDIA POLYZOU, SAYING: "The most important thing about this greenhouse is that human intervention is not required. Our aim was for it to get to Mars, land on its own, and then begin to work by itself for a whole spinach plant life cycle, which is around 40 to 45 days." The concept comprises an air garden equipped with a suite of solar powered sensors and electrical systems that nurture and monitor the spinach as it grows, providing water and carbon dioxide. The greenhouse will be shielded by an automated dome that allows sunlight in while protecting the spinach from the harsh Martian environment. According to Vangelis Chliaras, the system will be capable of harvesting both the spinach and the oxygen produced during its growth cycle. (SOUNDBITE) (Greek) TEAM MEMBER AND PHYSICS STUDENT VANGELIS CHLIARAS, SAYING: "We see Mars as the next frontier for mankind. Man is constantly exploring and seeking to discover new worlds but if you think about the history of space travel, man has just walked on the moon. We haven't gone any further. So we saw Mars as a new challenge for mankind." And NASA seems to agree. The US space agency awarded the "Popeye on Mars" team with a "Best Concept" prize in its Space Apps Challenge competition earlier this year..

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

How to grow spinach on Mars

Tuesday, August 06, 2013 - 01:49

Top News »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)