Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Entertainment

Bath-time goes interactive in Japan

Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 - 01:50

Aug. 22 - ''Surfing the web'' has taken on new meaning at a university in Tokyo where scientists have turned bath-water into a touch screen. Bathers can add new depth to their cleansing experience by manipulating the water to browse a website, watch a movie or even play games. Rob Muir reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's bath time at the University of Electro-communication in Tokyo. After twelve months of experimentation, scientists have managed to turn bath water into an interactive touch screen. Team leader Professor Hideki Koike says it's an idea perfectly suited to the the times. SOUNDBITE) (Japanese) PROFESSOR AT THE GRADUATE SCHOOL OF INFORMATION SYSTEMS AT THE UNIVERSITY OF ELECTRO-COMMUNICATIONS, HIDEKI KOIKE, SAYING: "The bathtub is a place where you can really relax and I think people had nothing to do while in the tub. We believe you can now read a book or when you are busy in the morning, you can quickly read the papers and watch the morning dramas before going to work." For the liquid touch screen to work, bath salts are added to make the water opaque. Predetermined hand and finger movements in the water are mapped in real time by a Microsoft Kinect depth camera which sends the signals to a computer. The computer then translates the signals into instructions for an overhead projector which displays the images on the water's surface. With a scoop of water or the poke of a finger, images can be manipulated just as they are on conventional screens allowing access to email, websites or interactive games. Koike says it's not only practical, its also educational. SOUNDBITE) (Japanese) PROFESSOR AT THE GRADUATE SCHOOL OF INFORMATION SYSTEMS AT THE UNIVERSITY OF ELECTRO-COMMUNICATIONS, HIDEKI KOIKE, SAYING: "The parent can spend time and educate their child at the same time in the tub now. You can show simple quiz questions on the surface of the water and you can even tell your child 'you can't get out of the tub until you answer all the questions' and I think there might be such fun applications." The team also sees potential for their system in aquatic amusement parks and for pool-based physical rehabilition. But they're currently in talks with bathroom manufacturers, aiming at a market where they hope they can clean up

Bath-time goes interactive in Japan

Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 - 01:50

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)