Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Technology

Japanese scientists see end to animal testing with artificial cornea

Sunday, Sep 01, 2013 - 01:50

Sept. 1 - Japanese scientists say they have developed an artificial cornea to replace live animals in the testing of new cosmetics. Animal testing is banned in Europe but is still legal in Japan and the United States. The researchers believe their cornea could help end the practice completely. Tara Cleary reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

EDITORS NOTE: EDIT CONTAINS MATERIAL THAT WAS ORIGINALLY 4:3 Using graphic videos, activists have been trying for decades to end cosmetics trials on animals. It's been banned in the EU but make-up sold to women in Japan and the US is still subject to legal animal testing. Now Japanese scientists led by Toshiaki Takezawa believe a thin sheet of collagen, much like this one, could play a role in ending the practice. SOUNDBITE: TOSHIAKI TAKEZAWA, SENIOR RESEARCHER AT NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF AGROBIOLOGICAL SCIENCES (NIAS), SAYING (Japanese): "We have developed a new ultrathin collagen membrane. When we put it into a specially-made container we were able to cultivate human corneal cells and create the equivalent of a human cornea." And Takezawa says those cells are as effective as the entire eye of an animal, in detecting toxic chemicals. In preliminary tests, the cells were laid out on sheets and exposed to 30 different chemicals. Takezawa says the number of cells destroyed in the experiment matched the results of previous animal trials in 90 percent of cases. And the other 10 percent were even more accurate than tests on rabbits' eyes. SOUNDBITE: TOSHIAKI TAKEZAWA, SENIOR RESEARCHER AT NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF AGROBIOLOGICAL SCIENCES (NIAS), SAYING (Japanese): "We believe that we have been able to get results that are closer to the effect on human eyes than those found in tests on rabbits. That's largely because even in some chemicals that had already been declared non-toxic in tests on rabbit eyes, we were able to detect levels of toxicity." Takezawa says that apart from the cruelty involved, animal testing is unsustainable in the long-term because of the physiological differences between animals and humans. He says his research could be applied to simulate cells in any part of the human body, from the skin to internal organs, leaving animals out of the process entirely.

Japanese scientists see end to animal testing with artificial cornea

Sunday, Sep 01, 2013 - 01:50

Money »

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Mon, Aug 04, 2014 - (2:19)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)