Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

Low expectations for G20 finding common cause on Syria

Wednesday, Sep 04, 2013 - 01:36

Sept. 4 - With the U.S. and Russia on opposing sides of the Syria crisis, one analyst says it is unlikely they will find common cause at G20. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

TV AND WEB RESTRICTIONS~**NO ACCESS SWEDEN*~ World leaders arrive in Russia for the G20 summit. They come as Syria has moved to the forefront of the international agenda -- with few signs of common cause. Its no surprise says political analyst Konstantin Eggert. (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) POLITICAL ANALYST KONSTANTIN EGGERT, SAYING: "It's absolutely unrealistic to expect any practical decisions for example on the Syrian issue or on the problems of the global financial system when these 20 countries have obviously different or even conflicting interests". Much of the focus has been on the US and Russia, who are on opposite sides of the Syrian conflict. U.S. President Barack Obama is trying to rally Western support for military action against Syria over what Washington believes is the killing of 1,400 people in a chemical weapons attack. Russian President Vladimir Putin wants Syria put on the G20 agenda and is unlikely to pull any punches. (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) POLITICAL ANALYST KONSTANTIN EGGERT SAYING: "President (Vladimir) Putin doesn't like, or I would even put it stronger, despises president (Barack) Obama, sees him as an inexperienced politician, a person too much focused on his own public relations, who has too much trust in ratings and his spin-doctors, a person who has changed his Middle East policies twice in the last two years". The conflict will be discussed on the sidelines of the summit but it is not clear whether it will be put to the leaders for formal discussion.

Low expectations for G20 finding common cause on Syria

Wednesday, Sep 04, 2013 - 01:36

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)