Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Technology

Fishing net technology a big catch for New Zealand

Monday, Oct 07, 2013 - 02:01

Oct. 7 - New commercial fishing technology from New Zealand may soon put an end to the global problem of by-catch, where non-targeted species are caught up in the nets of commercial fishermen. Called ''Precision Seafood Harvesting'', the technology allows smaller fish to escape while keeping targeted fish alive and fresher much longer. Elly Park reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Known as Precision Seafood Harvesting, this PVC net might be the future of sustainable fishing. The secret lies in its tube-like design that's lined with holes to eliminate by-catch and allows juvenile fish to escape, says Eric Barratt of Seafood New Zealand. (SOUNDBITE) (English) SEAFOOD NEW ZEALAND CHIEF EXECUTIVE, ERIC BARRATT SAYING: "We can now target fish, exactly the species and the size of the species that we want to catch but what we don't want to catch stays in the water swimming." And for conservationists that could be key. Industrial-scale fishing is widely blamed for the decline of several species including sharks, dolphins, sea turtles and birds. The new precision system has been ten years in development at a cost of more than 40 million dollars. But according to Barratt it's a small price to pay for a technology that could revolutionize commercial fishing all over the world. (SOUNDBITE) (English) SEAFOOD NEW ZEALAND CHIEF EXECUTIVE, ERIC BARRATT SAYING: "It's a very exciting innovation, I mean for a hundred and fifty years we've trawled fish and we've never changed. This changes the ball park completely." Part of the change is the fact that the liner retains water as it's hauled onto the deck, allowing the fish to stay alive and in better condition as they're taken to market, says fisherman Darryl Newton. (SOUNDBITE) (English) 1ST MATE, OTAKOU SEALORD, DARRYL NEWTON SAYING: "The colors of the fish are all still there. You get the nice bronzy colors through the hoki that you just don't see when they come up in the traditional harvest methods." And the unwanted fish can be thrown back into the ocean, still alive as well. While the overall research project is still four years from completion, Barratt and his fellow investors are confident that Precision Seafood Harvesting will eventually reel in enough attention to become the new norm in commercial fishing around the world.

Fishing net technology a big catch for New Zealand

Monday, Oct 07, 2013 - 02:01

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)