Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Senatorial dealmaking stokes rally

Monday, Oct 14, 2013 - 02:13

Oct. 14 - Summary: Wall Street reverses drop to end higher as Senate leadership work on shutdown, deal debt; Netflix soars on cable TV talk; Facebook buys Israeli app start up; Yahoo casts net for wider ad sales. Conway G. Gittens reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Investors start the week with hope. Senate leaders are working on a deal to fund the government until January and extend the $16.7 trillion debt ceiling into next year, according to Senate aides. Such a plan has to been approved by both parties in both houses. Steve Bell is a veteran of budget battles and now is at the Bipartisan Policy Center. SOUNDBITE: STEVE BELL, SENIOR DIRECTOR, BIPARTISAN POLICY CENTER (ENGLISH) SAYING: "People ought to know Senate Republicans have irritated House Republicans now to a pretty substantial degree and so on top of everything else we have that. I think we will probably get an outlines of a pretty good deal by Thursday but I do think it's going to be hard to get it done much before next Monday." Investor hope focused even the more on a postponed meeting between the White House and top leaders from the House and the Senate - giving the Senate more time to come up with a deal. Stocks ditched their losses by the end of the session, but keep in mind trading was thin due to a partial holiday with the bond market closed. Netflix is talking with several cable TV operators including Comcast, the largest U.S. cable outfit, according to the Wall Street Journal. The talks center around a Netflix app becoming part of set-top boxes, much like a deal Netflix was able to work out with European companies a month ago using TiVo hardware. Analysts say despite cable's worries about customers cutting the cord and using Netflix, more of these hook-ups will likely get done. Shares of Netflix rallied almost 8 percent. Yahoo is focusing attention on getting those ad dollars. Company executives have been on fire over the past six months going after potential advertisers in a big way, according to ad agency executives. Those efforts are not expected to show any benefits when Yahoo reports on Tuesday. Shares of the Internet company were down ahead of third quarter earnings. Facebook is acquiring an Israeli-based start-up app maker called Onavo. The deal is worth about $150 to $200 million according to a financial news website - giving Facebook access to mobile data analytics. European stocks were little changed as investors weighed weakness in the tech sector against optimism of an end to the U.S. debt battle.

Senatorial dealmaking stokes rally

Monday, Oct 14, 2013 - 02:13

Money »

S&P 500 closes at new high S&P 500 closes at new high

4:55pm EDT - (1:24)

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)