Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Oddly Enough

Moooove over fossil-fuels - Cow power's coming

Sunday, October 27, 2013 - 02:23

Oct. 27 - Argentine researchers have demonstrated how methane can be separated from other digestive gases produced by cattle, to power a car. The scientists say that harnessing cow power on an industrial scale could create a new form of sustainable energy while also reducing the carbon footprint produced by cattle ranches. Elly Park reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

This car runs on natural gas. Not the kind of natural gas that comes from deep underground…but the kind that can be found deep inside the stomach of your average cow. Researchers from Argentina's National Institute of Agricultural Technology have found a new use for way to cash in on cattle. Guillermo Berra says that the methane produced by the cow's digestive system is a highly combustible natural gas that, from other sources, is widely used for energy production. He says there's no reason why cows could not be farmed as a new source of energy. (SOUNDBITE) (Spanish) RESEARCHER FROM ARGENTINA'S NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF AGRICULTURAL TECHNOLOGY (INTA), DOCTOR GUILLERMO BERRA: "From the point of view of the (cow's) digestive system, we look at it as a biodigester. What is a biodigester? It is an enclosed container with two openings where a fermentation process takes place in which, because of the absence of oxygen, it is technically anaerobic. These bacteria produce, more than anything, two gases which are carbon dioxide and methane ." Berra and his team extract the gases produced in the upper digestive chamber using a tube fed directly through the side of the cow. They then separate the methane from other gases using a bicycle attached to a piston which pumps the gas through a purification system. The result is this 95 percent pure methane gas which can be burned to power a car engine or anything else that runs on natural gas, says pneumatics specialist Diego Mena (SOUNDBITE) (Spanish) HIGH PRESSURE PNEUMATICS SPECIALIST, DIEGO MENA, SAYING: "Methane is methane. It doesn't matter where it originates. Once it is purified you can use it." And there's an environmental benefit as well. Methane is a potent greenhouse gas that contributes to global warming. The researchers say 30 percent of Argentina's carbon emissions come from both ends of the nation's 51 million cows. So by using their digestive gases as fuel, Berra and his team believe that they can help the environment while creating a new source of renewable energy…turning cattle into grass fed gas stations.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Moooove over fossil-fuels - Cow power's coming

Sunday, October 27, 2013 - 02:23

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)