Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

European Parliament members visit U.S. lawmakers on alleged surveillance

Monday, October 28, 2013 - 02:03

Oct. 28 - Members of the European Parliament visited lawmakers at the U.S. Capitol to discuss allegations of widespread surveillance programs by U.S. intelligence agencies the same day Spain summoned the U.S. ambassador to discuss allegations of spying on Spanish citizens. Sarah Irwin reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Members of the European Parliament visit Capitol Hill to meet with lawmakers about allegations of widespread spying by the U.S. on its allies. European Parliament Member Teresa Jimenez-Becerril Barrio from Spain. SOUNDBITE: European Parliament Member Teresa Jimenez-Becerril Barrio from Spain "I think we came here with a good will and also with a strong message of our citizens, saying that we don't accept this." The latest accusation... a Spanish newspaper reports the U.S. National Security Agency tracked over 60 million phone calls in Spain in a month -- citing a document which it said stemmed from ex-N.S.A. contractor Edward Snowden. Madrid's Foreign Ministry summoned the U.S. ambassador to Spain but stopped short of joining Germany - who has called for the EU to reach a "no spy deal." Axel Voss is a German member of the European Parliamentary delegation visiting Washington. SOUNDBITE: European Parliament Member Axel Voss from Germany "There's a big discussion, a deep disappointment and of course we are not considering our chancellor as a terrorist and so therefore I would say they have to think about or to reconsider what data they really are interested in." Recently, reports emerged the U.S. had monitored German Chancellor Angela Merkel's phone - for more than 10 years - and had conducted widespread surveillance on France and Italy. White House Spokesman Jay Carney admitted changes were in order. SOUNDBITE: White House Spokesman Jay Carney "We recognize there needs to be additional constraints on how we gather and use intelligence." The Wall Street Journal reported on Sunday the N.S.A. ended its program monitoring Merkel after the operation was uncovered last summer. The report said the program involved the monitoring of possibly 35 world leaders - some who are still under surveillance.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

European Parliament members visit U.S. lawmakers on alleged surveillance

Monday, October 28, 2013 - 02:03

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)