Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

Double life term for SA killer rapist

Saturday, November 02, 2013 - 01:24

Nov. 2 - Killer rapist starts two life jail terms for attack that shocked South Africa. Paul Chapman reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Johannes Kana's rape, mutilation and murder of a teenage girl shocked even South Africa whose rate of violent crime is among the highest in the world. On Friday Kana was jailed for two life terms. (SOUNDBITE) (Afrikaans) JUDGE PATRICIA GOLIATH SAYING: "On charge one, rape, the accused has been found guilty and is sentenced to life imprisonment. On the second charge, murder, the accused is sentenced to life-long imprisonment. As far as it is necessary the court has decided that the two sentences will be served in conjunction with one another." Kana admitted raping 17-year-old Anene Booysen and dumping her body at a building site in February although he denied disembowelling her. Prosecutors say they're happy with his sentence under the circumstances. (SOUNDBITE) (English) WESTERN CAPE NATIONAL PROSECUTING AUTHORITY (NPA) SPOKESPERSON, ERIC NTABAZALILA SAYING: "We know that it will not bring Anene Booysen back. It will not lessen the pain she went through and what her family went through. But we hope that they will go...women will find solace knowing that the person that raped and murdered her will pay for what he did." The crime unleashed some of the biggest anti-rape campaigns in years in a country where 180 rapes reported daily is thought to be the tip of the iceberg.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Double life term for SA killer rapist

Saturday, November 02, 2013 - 01:24

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Throw out the 60-40 rule for retirement investing? Throw out the 60-40 rule for retirement...

Wed, Oct 22, 2014 - (2:05)

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)