Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

Rouhani says Iran rejects threats, cites "red lines" in nuclear talks

Sunday, Nov 10, 2013 - 01:49

Nov. 10 - Iranian President Hassan Rouhani says Iran would not compromise its national interests as Tehran edges toward a deal on its nuclear program. Gavino Garay reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Iranian President Hassan Rouhani said Sunday that Iran would not compromise its national interests as Tehran edges toward a deal on its nuclear program. (SOUNDBITE) (Farsi) IRAN'S PRESIDENT, HASSAN ROUHANI, SAYING: "For us there are red lines that cannot be crossed. The rights of the Iranian nation are our red lines, national interests are our red lines and that includes our rights under the framework of international regulations and (uranium) enrichment on Iranian soil." Marathon talks in Geneva ended on Saturday WITHOUT a deal on curbing Tehran's contested nuclear program, which has sparked fears that its nuclear enrichment may be fueling nuclear warheads. Talks are scheduled to resume on Nov. 20. Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu denounced the interim deal that seemed to be taking shape in Geneva. (SOUNDBITE) (Hebrew) ISRAELI PRIME MINISTER BENJAMIN NETANYAHU SAYING: "I emphasize that the proposed deal does not include the dismantling of even a single centrifuge. I asked all the leaders, what is the rush? And I suggested they wait, that they consider things with gravity. It is a historic process and historic decision. I requested they wait." But Russia, the United Kingdom, and China remain optimistic about eventual progress. Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov praised the U.S. for its position during the talks, and British Foreign Secretary William Hague said "the deal is on the table." Chinese Vice Foreign Minister Li Baodong: (SOUNDBITE) (Mandarin) CHINESE VICE FOREIGN MINISTER LI BAODONG, SAYING: "All parties were willing to maintain the momentum of talks and to hold another round of talks as early as possible." The Geneva talks are aimed at trying to defuse a decade-old stand-off and fears of a drift towards a new Middle East war.

Rouhani says Iran rejects threats, cites "red lines" in nuclear talks

Sunday, Nov 10, 2013 - 01:49

Money »

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Mon, Aug 04, 2014 - (2:19)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)