Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Moments of Innovation

Red Sea coral reefs uniquely resilient, say Israeli researchers

Monday, November 11, 2013 - 01:55

Nov. 11 - Israeli ecologists are calling for the coral reefs of Eilat to be declared a World Heritage site because of their unique ability to resist bleaching. The researchers say protecting them to create a global coral refuge should be an environmental priority. Jim Drury reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

UPSOT: THE SEA The coral reefs of Eilat, renowned for their plentiful exotic fish and popularity among divers. UPSOT: THE SEA Israeli ecologists say they're also an environmental wonder, apparently immune to the phenomenon of coral bleaching that is destroying reef systems elsewhere in the world. Professor Amatzia Genin, of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, co-led a study into the ancient coral. He says the reefs have unique properties. SOUNDBITE (English) AMATZIA GENIN, PROFESSOR OF ECOLOGY AT THE HEBREW UNIVERSITY OF JERUSALEM, SAYING: "Eight thousand years ago, the Red Sea, the entrance was already as warm as today. So that means that all the corals that entered from the Indian ocean to the Red Sea had to survive high temperature. So they were adapted, those corals that were not adapted to high temperature couldn't make it, they died." The Gulf of Eilat - also known as the Gulf of Aqaba - is located at the Red Sea's northern tip, its coastline shared by Israel, Egypt, Jordan, and Saudi Arabia. In other reef ecosystems, coral can lose the algae living in its tissues if the temperature gets too high, causing it to turn white and eventually die - but not here. Genin and his colleagues at Israel's Bar-Ilan University say the Red Sea reefs are special, and deserve protection. SOUNDBITE (English) AMATZIA GENIN, PROFESSOR OF ECOLOGY AT THE HEBREW UNIVERSITY OF JERUSALEM, SAYING: "What we would like to ask the world (is), define the Gulf of Aqaba as a World Heritage and defend the corals there because they may serve as the seed or the refuge for future coral reefs on the globe." Some scientists warn of mass coral mortality within a century if ocean temperatures continue to rise. Genin thinks Eilat could survive for double that time, giving corals a safe haven while experts try to reverse the damage and rebuild ocean environments for reefs to thrive.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Red Sea coral reefs uniquely resilient, say Israeli researchers

Monday, November 11, 2013 - 01:55

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)