Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Hydrogen power flexes muscles at LA Auto Show

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 - 02:13

Nov. 27 - Japanese car-maker Honda has unveiled a hydrogen-powered concept vehicle that it says represents the future of emissions-free driving. Honda and other car-makers exhibiting at this week's Los Angeles Auto Show, say that with sufficient infrastructure investment, hydrogen fuel cell technology could replace conventional batteries in powering electric vehicles. Ben Gruber reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

This is Honda's latest concept vehicle - the FCEV- a hydrogen cell powered car that marketing manager Stephen Ellis says is the future of emissions-free driving. (SOUNDBITE) (English) STEPHEN ELLIS OF MANAGER, HONDA FUEL CELL MARKETING, ON FUEL CELL CARS, SAYING: "The hydrogen fuel cell electric vehicle is just that, it is a zero emission all-electric car. But what is different from the battery electric is that it makes its electricity on board." Ellis says that by producing its own electricity, the FCEV can travel 300 miles before needing to refuel, a process that takes just 5 minutes as opposed to the several hours it takes most electric vehicles to recharge their batteries. Hydrogen fuel-cells combine hydrogen and oxygen internally to generate electricity to power cars. Not only can those vehicles drive for five times longer than conventional electric cars, their only emission is water vapor. Fuel cell advocate Keith Malone says that the technology holds promise not just for the environment, but for the economy as well. (SOUNDBITE) (English) KEITH MALONE, CALIFORNIA FUEL CELL PARTNERSHIP, SAYING: "In the U.S., we already make a lot of hydrogen. It is purely a domestic fuel. There are a number of sources from which we can extract hydrogen, including natural gas, water and biomes, things like trash, sewage and agricultural waste." But that is where hydrogen powered cars have hit a roadblock. The technology is significantly more expensive than battery power and infrastructure investment is practically non-existent with only 10 public hydrogen fuelling stations in the entire United States. But Ellis says fuel cell cars will - eventually - come into their own, which is why Honda and several other major car manufacturers car are investing in hydrogen cell research. He says the FCEV is an example of that progress. (SOUNDBITE) (English) STEPHEN ELLIS OF MANAGER, HONDA FUEL CELL MARKETING, ON FUEL CELL CARS, SAYING: "The advances that we've made are huge, over 300 mile range, 33 percent smaller fuel cell stack, and over 100 kilowatts of power output. So, this is a more powerful fuel cell stack, in a smaller package and lighter weight. This is unprecedented, we are making large leaps forward in this technology." And Ellis says every leap forward brings a cost effective, zero emission car powered by hydrogen closer to reality.

Hydrogen power flexes muscles at LA Auto Show

Wednesday, Nov 27, 2013 - 02:13

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)