Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

Politicians,celebrities take to Twitter regarding Nelson Mandela's death

Thursday, December 05, 2013 - 01:50

Dec. 5 - Mike Tyson, Bill Gates, Victoria Beckham and Jamie Foxx were among those who took to Twitter to express their sorrow about the death of Nelson Mandela. Rough Cut (no reporter narration)

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

U.S. President Barack Obama, actor Jamie Foxx and singer and designer Victoria Beckham are among the many celebrities taking to Twitter to express their sorrow after hearing the news of the death of Nelson Mandela. Celebrities and politicians took to Twitter to express their grief after learning of the death of former South African President Nelson Mandela. Mandela's foundation tweeted "Death is something inevitable. When a man has done what he considers to be his duty to his people and his country he can rest in peace" with the hashtag "#Madiba". U.S. President Barack Obama tweeted his thanks for Mandela's life, while former President Bill Clinton sent out a photo of himself with the leader. Former Vice President Al Gore called Mandela "one of the world's great leaders". Mandela's commitment to peace and education was the foundation of the tweet sent by the Malala Fund: "Education is the most powerful weapon that you can use to change the world". Hollywood actors including Lindsay Lohan, Jamie Foxx, Eva Longoria, Samuel L. Jackson and Gwyneth Paltrow also tweeted messages of reflection to their millions of followers. South African born actress Charlize Theron sent prayers to the Mandela family. Former Spice Girl Victoria Beckham posted photos of herself and husband, David Beckham with Mandela. While boxer Mike Tyson, who is currently in Africa, also shared a photo with the leader. TV personality Kelly Osbourne called it "officially one of the saddest days". Saying Mandela is "the most inspirational person to ever walk the earth". Members of the fashion world also took time out to speak on his death. Models Cara Delevingne and Joan Smalls expressed their thoughts upon hearing the news. Nelson Mandela died on December 5 at the age of 95.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Politicians,celebrities take to Twitter regarding Nelson Mandela's death

Thursday, December 05, 2013 - 01:50

Top News »

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)