Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

Politicians,celebrities take to Twitter regarding Nelson Mandela's death

Thursday, Dec 05, 2013 - 01:50

Dec. 5 - Mike Tyson, Bill Gates, Victoria Beckham and Jamie Foxx were among those who took to Twitter to express their sorrow about the death of Nelson Mandela. Rough Cut (no reporter narration)

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

U.S. President Barack Obama, actor Jamie Foxx and singer and designer Victoria Beckham are among the many celebrities taking to Twitter to express their sorrow after hearing the news of the death of Nelson Mandela. Celebrities and politicians took to Twitter to express their grief after learning of the death of former South African President Nelson Mandela. Mandela's foundation tweeted "Death is something inevitable. When a man has done what he considers to be his duty to his people and his country he can rest in peace" with the hashtag "#Madiba". U.S. President Barack Obama tweeted his thanks for Mandela's life, while former President Bill Clinton sent out a photo of himself with the leader. Former Vice President Al Gore called Mandela "one of the world's great leaders". Mandela's commitment to peace and education was the foundation of the tweet sent by the Malala Fund: "Education is the most powerful weapon that you can use to change the world". Hollywood actors including Lindsay Lohan, Jamie Foxx, Eva Longoria, Samuel L. Jackson and Gwyneth Paltrow also tweeted messages of reflection to their millions of followers. South African born actress Charlize Theron sent prayers to the Mandela family. Former Spice Girl Victoria Beckham posted photos of herself and husband, David Beckham with Mandela. While boxer Mike Tyson, who is currently in Africa, also shared a photo with the leader. TV personality Kelly Osbourne called it "officially one of the saddest days". Saying Mandela is "the most inspirational person to ever walk the earth". Members of the fashion world also took time out to speak on his death. Models Cara Delevingne and Joan Smalls expressed their thoughts upon hearing the news. Nelson Mandela died on December 5 at the age of 95.

Politicians,celebrities take to Twitter regarding Nelson Mandela's death

Thursday, Dec 05, 2013 - 01:50

Top News »

Money »

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Mon, Aug 04, 2014 - (2:19)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)