Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Finance Videos

Senate votes yeah for Yellen

Monday, January 06, 2014 - 01:24

Jan 06 - After a senate confirmation vote, incoming Fed Chair Janet Yellen has unprecedented challenges. Bobbi Rebell reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It is official. Janet Yellen will be the next Fed Chairman- and the first woman to head the U.S. central bank in its 100 year history. Her challenges are unprecedented, says Professor Mark Thoma of the University of Oregon: SOUNDBITE: MARK THOMA, ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, UNIVERSITY OF OREGON (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Bernanke faced a lot of the similar challenges when he took over so I think that it's very similar in that regard but he was mainly managing the downturn and trying to get the economy turning around and she is managing the landing that we are going to have and trying to make that as smooth as possible. I can't think of another Fed Chair that has faced challenges that are as important and as big as she is facing right now." Specifically, winding down the Fed's extreme bond buying program- which the Fed is starting to taper this month. SOUNDBITE: MARK THOMA, ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, UNIVERSITY OF OREGON (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Getting the timing right, getting the magnitudes right. All those sorts of things. She'll be judged in the future quite a bit by how she manages the exit from QE and also how well she manages once they start increasing the Federal Funds rate how well that goes, how fast they do it." And how she lets the markets know what to expect: Moody's Analytics Ryan Sweet: SOUNDBITE: RYAN SWEET, DIRECTOR, MOODY'S ANALYTICS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "The one thing I think Yellen will continue to do is improve the central banks' communication strategy. Bernanke really got that jump started over the last few years and I think Yellen will continue with that going forward." Yellen takes over for Bernanke when his second four-year term ends on January 31st.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Senate votes yeah for Yellen

Monday, January 06, 2014 - 01:24

Top News »

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)