Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Amateur video shows continued Syria fighting as sides prep for peace talks

Sunday, January 12, 2014 - 01:40

Jan. 12 - The Syrian opposition and international powers met in Paris ahead of peace talks, but President Bashar al Assad feels little pressure to give concessions as rebels fight amongst themselves. Mana Rabiee reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

This is the moment before a barrel bomb supposedly falls out of the Syrian sky. The video purports to show an area near the capital Damascus. In Syria's second city, Aleppo, barrel bombs - containers packed with TNT and hurled out of aircraft -- were also reportedly used. Although Reuters can't verify either video, obtained from opposition websites. As fighting continues in Syria's protracted war, diplomats and opposition figures gathered in Paris on Sunday for an end to the conflict. U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry was there. He met with the Arab League to review crucial peace talks, scheduled to begin in Geneva this month. SOUNDBITE: U.S. SECRETARY OF STATE JOHN KERRY "We believe that it is possibly for the regime to put in place -- before Geneva -- a cease fire, local cease fires if necessary, a cease fire with respect to Aleppo, and send the signal that they are prepared to the set a different mood, a different climate, a different stage for the possibility of success in Geneva. They have the power to do that." But prospects for peace are dim. Syrian President Bashar al Assad, seen here on Sunday, has had recent military gains. The rebels opposed to him are increasingly fragmented and he faces little pressure to give concessions. And then there's this. In the northeast, the opposition is fighting rival rebels affiliated with Al Qaeda. Video Reuters can't verify purports to show civilian casualties on Sunday at the hands of those Islamist rebels. They reportedly included the elderly and children.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Amateur video shows continued Syria fighting as sides prep for peace talks

Sunday, January 12, 2014 - 01:40

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)