Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Lifestyle

Self-navigating flapping drone takes flight

Sunday, January 19, 2014 - 02:08

Jan. 19 - Scientists in the Netherlands have designed the world's first self-navigating, flapping winged robot. Called the DelFly Explorer, it can detect and avoid obstacles in its path and is being further developed to navigate entire buildings by itself. Sharon Reich reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's not the first drone designed to mimic nature, but unlike other flapping-winged vehicles, the ultra lightweight DelFly Explorer navigates entirely on it's own, detecting and avoiding obstacles in its path with no human intervention The DelFly was developed by a team led by Guido De Croon at the Delft University of Technology. He says its autonomous navigational capabilities set it apart. (SOUNDBITE) (English), DELFT UNIVERSITY ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, GUIDE DE CROON, SAYING: "It's actually, when it sees something, it will fly on a little bit, then it will fly a circle, and only continuing in the direction if it sees enough space again, so this is one of the simple things it does, actually, that make it efficient, but still we are sure that it will avoid obstacles." That's due to the DelFly tiny stereo-vision system. Two built-in cameras and a tiny computer processor combine the images in real time, enabling it to determine the presence of obstacles and their precise location. It can also adapt its own altitude to suit the environment and can fly for up to nine minutes on battery power. Eventually, the team believes their vehicle could be used for indoor surveillance or monitoring, or as platform for video streaming at concerts.... But first, they need to teach it new tricks. (SOUNDBITE) (English), DELFT UNIVERSITY ASSISTANT PROFESSOR, GUIDE DE CROON, SAYING: "The next step we want to take is that it can go through the door, or through the window, and then not only explore one space, but explore the whole building for example, and the step after that is that when is exploring, it will notice at the certain point that it has less battery and then it needs to get back to the operator. So it has to do something that we know that bees for example are very good at, and they do it with little processing, and we will have to do the same thing with this small DelFly." Replicating the mechanics of a bee, De Croon admits, will take some time...but he and his team are confident that better batteries and more sophisticated sensors will gradually take Delfly to even greater heights. .

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Self-navigating flapping drone takes flight

Sunday, January 19, 2014 - 02:08

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)