Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Spain's unemployed weighs on recovery

Thursday, Jan 23, 2014 - 01:19

Jan 23 - Spain's already high unemployment rate inched up in the fourth quarter hindering its fragile economic recovery. On the same day the euro zones private sector reported strong growth. Melanie Ralph looks at where Europe is heading over the next few months.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

There's been another increase in the number of Spanish people looking for a job. And the long-term outlook remains bleak with questions over the quality of the few new jobs that are being created. (SOUNDBITE) (Spanish) UNEMPLOYED WOMAN, SANDRA, SAYING: "Forty percent of contracts in December were temporary, amongst them my brother's who has been unemployed for three years. I haven't been on the dole that long but people on the street definitely don´t see any improvements." With the economy picking up some analysts are confident the tide will soon turn. (SOUNDBITE) (Spanish) BROKER AT X-TRADE BROKERS, JAVIER URONES, SAYING: "We believe we are going through a stabilization process in the jobless numbers. There are still close to six million people out of work, but we see signs of improvement." There were also signs of improvement in the overall euro zone economy. While China's manufacturing industry contracted, Europe's private sector businesses jumped to their highest level for two and half years. France remains a worry, shrinking for a third month, but generally recovery's on track. JP Morgan's global strategist David Shairp (SOUNDBITE) (English) J.P.MORGAN, GLOBAL STRATEGIST, DAVID SHAIRP, SAYING: "I think the good news is we're through the worst of the recession and we're seeing signs of recovery. I think we'll probably see growth averaging around 1 percent this year." That's nowhere near China's 7 percent But, if the euro zone can continue to stomach austerity measures and tighter debt targets, there is cause for some optimism.

Spain's unemployed weighs on recovery

Thursday, Jan 23, 2014 - 01:19

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)