Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

Ukrainian activist in hospital after 'kidnap and torture'

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 - 01:42

Feb. 4 - As protests fight on in and parliament convenes in Ukraine, activist Dmytro Bulatov arrives in Lithuania for treatment. Sarah Toms reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Independence Square in central Kiev.....the scene of fierce clashes between riot police and anti-government protesters. Despite the bitter Ukrainian winter, demonstrators set up camp here, blocking the avenue with barricades of metal and tyres. They've been calling for the resignation of President ViktorYanukovich for two months, after he backed away from a deal with the EU, and accepted a bailout from Russia. (SOUNDBITE) (Ukrainian) PROTESTER FROM IVANO-FRANKIVSK, MYKHAILO, SAYING: "Although we have our jobs and we have to work, but still we will come here. Some people will leave, the others will come. We will stay here till the very end." At least six people have been killed in the past two weeks. The government hopes the opposition will end its campaign and step up negotiations. On Tuesday, parliament convenes to debate calls for a broader amnesty for detained protesters, and a return to an earlier constitution, restricting presidential powers. But the opposition remains defiant. The severely injured Ukrainian opposition leader arrived at this hospital in Lithuania for medical treatment. (SOUNDBITE) (Lithuanian) VILNIUS REPUBLICAN UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL SPOKESWOMAN, AGNE IGNATAVICIENE, SAYING: "Dmytro Bulatov, who was brought into the hospital last night, had said this morning that his condition is bad. He was not been feeling well and has complained of strong headaches." Dmytro Bulatov claimed he was abducted and tortured, causing outrage among protesters. Despite the injuries, Bulatov says he will not be deterred from continuing the fight for democracy in Ukraine. But as the attacks grow more viscious and more militants join this protest camp, the fears grow that Ukraine could descend into civil war.

Ukrainian activist in hospital after 'kidnap and torture'

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 - 01:42

Top News »

Money »

S&P falls back from record high S&P falls back from record high

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (1:35)

S&P 500 closes at new high S&P 500 closes at new high

Thu, Aug 21, 2014 - (1:24)

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)