Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Lifestyle

Scientists reveal Stone Age man's sweet tooth

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 - 02:02

Feb. 12 - Scientists say they have identified the earliest signs of tooth decay in humans, from the remains of Stone Age teeth found in Morocco. The findings suggest that people living in the area between 13,500 and 15,000 years ago may have been storing and eating plants rich in carbohydrates and sugar, several thousand years earlier than previously thought. Jim Drury has more.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

These teeth are around 15,000 years old....... Discovered with 51 other Stone Age jaw bones in a Morrocan cave, they show the earliest evidence of human tooth decay. All but three sets of the hunter-gatherers' teeth revealed signs of rot. Co-director of the dig, Professor Abdeljalil Bouzouggar of Morocco's National Institute for Archaeological Sciences, says the discovery challenges established Middle East history. (SOUNDBITE) (Arabic) ABDELJALIL BOUZOUGGAR, PROFESSOR OF ARCHAEOLOGY AT THE NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR ARCHAEOLOGICAL SCIENCES, SAYING: "The scientific value of this discovery resides in the fact that it is the first and oldest case of teeth decay found. Also, the traces of tooth decay have a very profound and interesting significance because it means that these people who lived in this cave 13,500 to 15,000 years ago, consumed some products rich in carbohydrate or sugar-rich content in some plant food for a long period." And it may be that they were storing and consuming that food thousands of years earlier than previously thought. The findings suggest that people living in the Grotte des Pigeons caves ate plants full of carbohydrates and sugar all year round. Bouzouggar says acorns, pine nuts, pistachios, and wild oats would have been popular, but would also have nurtured mouth bacteria...and tooth decay. SOUNDBITE (Arabic) ABDELJALIL BOUZOUGGAR, PROFESSOR OF ARCHAEOLOGY AT THE NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR ARCHAEOLOGICAL SCIENCES, SAYING: "We used X-rays and we analysed the products and plants that were consumed by humans at that time. This analysis was made by an expert from Spain who examined the tiny remains of the plants and sweet products consumed by humans at that time." Bouzouggar says many people at the time would have endured great pain as a result of the tooth decay. Previous research has shown that humans' dental health worsened when people settled into agricultural communities. The Grotte des Pigeons jaws suggests those communities developed at a much earlier period when, it appears, even Stone Age man had a sweet tooth.

Scientists reveal Stone Age man's sweet tooth

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2014 - 02:02

Money »

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Mon, Aug 04, 2014 - (2:19)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)