Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Breakingviews: Vivendi’s SFR top target for French cable king

Monday, February 17, 2014 - 03:50

Feb. 17 - SFR, France’s No. 2 mobile operator, would be the biggest and best target for Patrick Drahi, says Breakingviews. And in time, he could also pursue the Portuguese and Israeli equivalent.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

-- just hateful things and recently our company that is investment vehicle all -- Is a balance a look at a lot of acquisitions in many countries -- Quentin -- covers side emanate from breaking views. And -- equipment what what what is the biggest deal he could be looking at right now. Well I'm Patrick -- he is probably keen to do a deal with Vivendi -- so far which the second biggest. My golfing company and from spending has sent that they can suspend the sack. To shareholders that reinventing themselves at least it kind of media and telecoms communications conglomerate wants -- kind of narrow. Media company and a -- doesn't sit very. Comfortably within that business but for Patrick driving these -- vehicle intend. Controls -- -- the big French cable company. Putting America -- and some thoughts together would create a brilliant. Integrated it's called play -- -- was fun and snaps TV ample but would it make sense to Vivendi. Texas senator -- it's all about price I think I mean. They probably think it did in the sense to be easy to spin it that let the market decide what the value is because remember. French may involve -- in a very bad spots of them I'm in this for the long points for which another company called India and kick started to and so do. The value which investors want to place on the business like so -- which only -- friends my ball is going to be quite a load so maybe it's dry heat and -- -- incredible story of how he'll get very big synergies seem -- to get three billion euros worth of synergies. And he could Shas and the synergies from sellers that might be more -- OK so you think back as it is and that's on top of special access to. I mean you also say these towns have five to attend all the prospects in an existing markets I mean just give us a little taste as some of that -- here. Deals that we might see in this place from Russia the case say he has to take me back how -- in Israel way his halts. Services face a big cable company and in my book company that should be few. Mobile companies DOD columnist for the -- equal partner on networks airing say maybe one day they can be mention on the to. I mean he's very big in Portugal he should get they get there is a come nichols' own optimists which is tax -- is spelled out some holes to go into an -- and maybe. -- -- target he could push into northern Spain whether some smaller. Cable companies he could get bigger and Belgium and by. -- the -- -- -- -- the list goes on it's quite match against someone coming to market with such economy explicit trust me I'm gonna guarantee. Tons of deals and so on trying to kind of how many tablets and they steals my right hand and just just the finish with -- as as as someone who am. Keeps a very -- sound or this activity in Europe for breaking news. What what should general sense of the market right now I am -- we we seem to be hearing. Of more and more activity and the people you talk to the companies you talk to arm as this is the momentum building enough. I'm sure there is moments and yes I mean I think people are still so instead of doing things that thing. Look like -- structuring of the sort of you know you require its channels to take a leap of faith. Under this anymore activity in -- was a year or two ago and there's a -- Other markets on the option market coming back and that helps to doctrinal systems that. Countless activity -- many things from Akron where I was so it keeps America's on the eminent rocket. However what is breaking news that's it for me if you watch our US show twelve birdies in seventeen says -- GMT every -- IMAX Acropolis sources.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Breakingviews: Vivendi’s SFR top target for French cable king

Monday, February 17, 2014 - 03:50

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Why bruised Brazil is a buy Why bruised Brazil is a buy

Fri, Jul 19, 2013 - (2:48)

3 ways to fix your bond portfolio 3 ways to fix your bond portfolio

Thu, Jul 11, 2013 - (3:10)

The next gold? Diamonds lure investors The next gold? Diamonds lure investors

Wed, Jul 03, 2013 - (2:38)

How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 - (2:34)

How to play banker on the web How to play banker on the web

Tue, Jun 11, 2013 - (2:57)

3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally 3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally

Fri, May 24, 2013 - (2:11)

How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201 How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201

Tue, Apr 30, 2013 - (2:30)

Rising dollar will drive stocks higher Rising dollar will drive stocks higher

Wed, Apr 10, 2013 - (2:32)

A little-known path to big dividends - Investing 201 A little-known path to big dividends -...

Thu, Apr 04, 2013 - (3:16)

What exactly does Warren Buffett own? - Investing 201 What exactly does Warren Buffett own? -...

Thu, Feb 14, 2013 - (0:51)

Big short bets: Where are they now? - Investing 201 Big short bets: Where are they now? -...

Fri, Dec 21, 2012 - (2:33)

How iPhone 5 sales affect your wealth - Investing 201 How iPhone 5 sales affect your wealth -...

Wed, Sep 26, 2012 - (2:52)

How to avoid doomed ETFs - Investing 201 How to avoid doomed ETFs - Investing 201

Mon, Sep 24, 2012 - (1:56)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

How to break your prenup - Money Clip How to break your prenup - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 07, 2013 - (1:18)

Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip

Thu, Feb 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip

Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - (3:41)

Raising charitable kids - Money Clip Raising charitable kids - Money Clip

Tue, Dec 11, 2012 - (1:24)

Render unto Apple - Money Clip Render unto Apple - Money Clip

Fri, Dec 07, 2012 - (2:50)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters Investigates Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (3:43)

Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (4:11)

Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became radicalized - Reuters Investigates Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became...

Fri, Dec 07, 2012 - (4:21)

Counselor: Jihad Jane at 17 - Reuters Investigates Counselor: Jihad Jane at 17 - Reuters...

Thu, Dec 06, 2012 - (4:17)

Reuters Investigates: Easing the grip of China's state-owned giants Reuters Investigates: Easing the grip of...

Tue, Oct 16, 2012 - (3:16)

Critics warn shadowy groups could bring bloodshed if Chavez loses - Reuters Investigates Critics warn shadowy groups could bring...

Mon, Aug 13, 2012 - (2:54)

Starbucks brews up big tax breaks Starbucks brews up big tax breaks

Mon, Oct 15, 2012 - (3:46)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)

360° snapshot of life in Kabul 360° snapshot of life in Kabul

Fri, Apr 04, 2014 - (1:26)

A blind teenager, living with vision A blind teenager, living with vision

Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - (3:51)

TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars

Wed, Mar 05, 2014 - (2:49)

TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees

Wed, Feb 12, 2014 - (2:55)

Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin

Fri, Feb 07, 2014 - (0:40)

TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet

Tue, Jan 14, 2014 - (3:28)

Pictures of the Year 2013 Pictures of the Year 2013

Fri, Dec 20, 2013 - (3:03)

Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum

Thu, Dec 05, 2013 - (6:11)

The Gettysburg Address The Gettysburg Address

Thu, Nov 28, 2013 - (2:31)

Making Gruyere: A family affair Making Gruyere: A family affair

Wed, Oct 16, 2013 - (5:06)

Abortion: After the decision Abortion: After the decision

Tue, Sep 17, 2013 - (5:46)

A Hollywood Timelapse A Hollywood Timelapse

Mon, Jul 22, 2013 - (2:24)

Idaho's militia training Idaho's militia training

Wed, Jul 17, 2013 - (5:04)

Tornado survivors of Moore, Oklahoma Tornado survivors of Moore, Oklahoma

Fri, Jun 07, 2013 - (5:25)

24 hours in Taksim Square 24 hours in Taksim Square

Thu, Jun 06, 2013 - (1:00)

A Zeppelin flashback A Zeppelin flashback

Wed, Jun 05, 2013 - (6:50)

Dateline Asia »

iPhone black market surges in Hong Kong iPhone black market surges in Hong Kong

Fri, Sep 19, 2014 - (1:50)

Breakingviews: Alibaba priced for believers Breakingviews: Alibaba priced for believers

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (3:09)

Sterling jumps, on Scottish vote Sterling jumps, on Scottish vote

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (2:56)

Rare rock on the block in Hong Kong Rare rock on the block in Hong Kong

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (1:43)

Alibaba IPO is 'overhyped': Mark Mobius Alibaba IPO is 'overhyped': Mark Mobius

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (4:13)

China tech players chip away at Alibaba China tech players chip away at Alibaba

Wed, Sep 17, 2014 - (4:02)

Breakingviews: India hits Japan/China radar Breakingviews: India hits Japan/China radar

Tue, Sep 16, 2014 - (2:20)

Asia corporate sentiment is slipping Asia corporate sentiment is slipping

Tue, Sep 16, 2014 - (1:36)

Alibaba's China roadshow Alibaba's China roadshow

Mon, Sep 15, 2014 - (2:16)

Asia Week Ahead: Xi Jinping gets down to business in India Asia Week Ahead: Xi Jinping gets down to...

Fri, Sep 12, 2014 - (1:56)

Vancouver 'unaffordable'? Not in China Vancouver 'unaffordable'? Not in China

Thu, Sep 11, 2014 - (3:16)

Breakingviews: Export shortfall damaging emerging economies Breakingviews: Export shortfall damaging...

Wed, Sep 10, 2014 - (2:33)

Hong Kong democracy - the facts Hong Kong democracy - the facts

Wed, Sep 10, 2014 - (1:26)

Breakingviews: Get to know the Alibaba valuation calculator Breakingviews: Get to know the Alibaba...

Tue, Sep 09, 2014 - (3:30)

Abe looks to Japan's consumers Abe looks to Japan's consumers

Tue, Sep 09, 2014 - (1:45)

Corruption crackdown gives rise to a new mooncake in China Corruption crackdown gives rise to a new...

Mon, Sep 08, 2014 - (2:09)

Asia Week Ahead: China trade to reveal recovery pace Asia Week Ahead: China trade to reveal...

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (1:22)

Breakingviews: Beijing signals no more 'hands-off Hong Kong' Breakingviews: Beijing signals no more...

Sun, Aug 31, 2014 - (3:08)

Flying kangaroo Qantas looks to loyalty program for cash Flying kangaroo Qantas looks to loyalty...

Sun, Aug 31, 2014 - (2:36)