Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

A future in progress in Ukraine

Monday, Feb 24, 2014 - 01:56

Feb. 24 - While Ukraine's political future is uncertain -- it is still in desperate need of funding as world powers weigh in offering promises of help. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

As they mourn the past in Ukraine, they await a new future as world powers weigh-in Monday. European Union foreign policy chief Catherine Ashton is in Kiev meeting with opposition leaders to discuss measures to shore up the ailing economy. With former President Viktor Yanukovich on the run, it's unclear what shape a future government will take, but there's little doubt about its financial needs. Britain Foreign Secretary William Hague will head to Washington for talks on Ukraine (SOUNDBITE) (English) BRITISH FOREIGN SECRETARY, WILLIAM HAGUE, SAYING: "Ukraine's financial situation is very serious, and without outside assistance, may not be sustainable." The Finance Ministry in Ukraine says it needs $35 billion in foreign assistance over the next two years and appealed for urgent aid in the coming weeks. White House spokesman Jay Carney says the U.S. will offer help. (SOUNDBITE) (English) WHITE HOUSE SPOKESMAN JAY CARNEY , SAYING: "The United States, working with partners around the world stands ready to supply support for Ukraine as it takes the reforms it needs to, get back to economic stability. This support can compliment an IMF program." The unrest began last fall when Yanukovich shunned a European trade deal in favor of an economic package from Russia. Now Russian Economic Development minister Alexei Ulyukaev says the next two billion installment is in "standby status." (SOUNDBITE) (English) RUSSIAN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT MINISTER ALEXEI ULYUKAEV SAYING: "Well, it depends on who are will be the responsible figures, because it's a very big amount of money. When IMF or other responsible institution provide support, it asks for the conditions and asks about the partners, so the same will do us." So far Russia has provided $3 billion in economic aid to Ukraine out of $15 billion pledged.

A future in progress in Ukraine

Monday, Feb 24, 2014 - 01:56

Most Popular »

Money »

S&P falls back from record high S&P falls back from record high

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (1:35)

S&P 500 closes at new high S&P 500 closes at new high

Thu, Aug 21, 2014 - (1:24)

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)