Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

Ukrainians gather in D.C. to honor those killed back home

Sunday, Feb 23, 2014 - 01:42

Feb. 23 - Ukrainians living in the U.S. gather in front of the White House to honor those killed during recent unrest in their home country. Nathan Frandino reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

In between songs and prayers, Ukrainians in the U.S. mourn those killed this week in Kiev. The group gathered in downtown Washington around a single coffin draped in a Ukrainian flag. (SOUNDBITE) (English) TATYANA GUMENYUK, UKRAINIAN LIVING IN U.S., SAYING: "Well it's bittersweet. It's sweet that the people stood out and paid the price. They really stood for what they wanted, but it's bitter because about 100 people had to shed their blood." Wearing traditional flower wreaths and waving the national flag, Ukrainians of all ages came to show their support. The gathering happened as an acting president takes over for the impeached President Viktor Yanukovich. Ukrainians here welcomed the news. (SOUNDBITE) (English) DAN RUSYN, UKRAINIAN LIVING IN PHILADELPHIA, SAYING: "I'm really happy. I've been waiting for this moment for a long time. It's sad how it ended up with all these people dying, but I'm happy Yanukovich is going. I wish the best for my country." Three months of mostly peaceful protests began after Yanukovich ditched the European Union for Russia, an association that angered many. (SOUNDBITE) ORYSIA HEWKA, UKRAINIAN LIVING IN PHILADELPHIA, SAYING: "Ukrainians do not want this association with Russia. They were going toward Europe. That's how this bloodshed started. They wanted to go toward Europe. We have nothing to do with Putin and his evil ways and we refuse to let him take advantage of our country." Supporters here acknowledge that stability in Ukraine is still a long way off, but in the meantime they're holding their country close to their hearts.

Ukrainians gather in D.C. to honor those killed back home

Sunday, Feb 23, 2014 - 01:42

Top News »

Money »

S&P falls back from record high S&P falls back from record high

5:35pm EDT - (1:35)

S&P 500 closes at new high S&P 500 closes at new high

Thu, Aug 21, 2014 - (1:24)

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)