Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Finance Videos

The Yellen Fed becomes more clear

Thursday, Feb 27, 2014 - 02:12

Feb. 27 - Fed Chair Janet Yellen asserted her own policies in her appearance before the Senate, making it clear she would make changes as needed now that she was in charge. Bobbi Rebell reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

There's a new Fed Chair in town- and Janet Yellen used Thursday's Senate testimony as an opportunity to assert her take on the central bank's policies, and how she plans to move forward- Distancing her Fed from the perception that rates would rise when the jobless rate hits 6.5 percent. It's currently at 6.6 percent. The big buzzword- qualitative guidance. SOUNDBITE: JANET YELLEN, CHAIR, U.S. FEDERAL RESERVE (ENGLISH) SAYING: "The unemployment rate is not a sufficient statistic for the state of the labor market. There is no hard and fast rule about what unemployment rate constitutes full employment and we need to consider a broad range of indicators. Many members of the committee have emphasized this point and it's one I agree with. It moves in the direction of qualitative guidance. On the other hand we do want to give markets as much of an indication of how we expect to conduct policy as we can." As was expected, Yellen testified that the Fed would watch to make sure the weather was a key factor in the slowing down of economic growth. Oppenheimer Funds Senior Economist Brian Levitt: SOUNDBITE: BRIAN LEVITT, SENIOR ECONOMIST, OPPENHEIMER FUNDS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "When you have a foot of snow you don't go to the mall that is quite simple or you don't build a home that's quite simple but the reality is this economy should be able to withstand what we saw these last few months and economic conditions and economic momentum is likely to improve as we head into the spring and beyond." And assuming that improving trend stays on track, the Fed Chair confirmed the central bank's plans to keep its stimulus trimming policy and end the bond buying program by the fall- unless things change: SOUNDBITE: JANET YELLEN, CHAIR, U.S. FEDERAL RESERVE (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Asset purchases are not on a pre-set course. So if there is a significant change in the outlook certainly we would be open to reconsidering but I wouldn't want to jump to conclusions here." Yellen was asked a lot about regulation- said she wants to ramp up the Fed's participation in major bank enforcement policy decisions, such as voting on settlement deals in bank related issues like foreclosure abuse.

The Yellen Fed becomes more clear

Thursday, Feb 27, 2014 - 02:12

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)