Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

Armed men seize two Crimea airports, Ukraine blames Russian forces

Friday, February 28, 2014 - 01:33

Feb. 28 - A group of armed men in military uniform takes control of two airports in the Crimean region, a move Ukraine's government calls an invasion. Sarah Toms reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

In the early hours of Friday morning, they arrived and took control of two airports in the Ukrainian region of Crimea. Here at Simferopol aiport the men carrying assault rifles and machine guns can be seen patrolling the airport grounds. They are move freely in the control tower but appear to be allowing the airport to operate as normal. This Simferopol resident says the armed men have not entered the passenger terminal. (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) SIMFEROPOL RESIDENT, OLEG, SAYING: "I am very worried, but what can I do at the moment? I don't know who they are, I don't know what it's about. My family is staying here, but I think that everything will be all right, I believe in the better." This man is called Vladimir. He says he's a volunteer helping the "People's MIlitia of Crimea". (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) REPRESENTATIVE OF GROUP CALLED PEOPLE'S MILITIA OF CRIMEA, VLADIMIR, SAYING: "We are here to ensure general order. We don't want radicals coming on planes from Kiev, from UNA-UNSO, people from Ukraine to come here and make trouble." (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) REPRESENTATIVE OF GROUP CALLED PEOPLE'S MILITIA OF CRIMEA, VLADIMIR, SAYING: "It was our initiative in order to stop the fire from spreading into Crimea. That's why we don't want radicalism to come here, we don't want fascism in Crimea, we want peace here." But Ukraine's interior minister says its an invasion and occupation by Russian forces. The Ukrainian government also says that Russian naval forces have also taken over a military airport near Sevastopol. Russia has repeatedly declared it will defend the interests of its citizens in Ukraine, but says it would not intervene by force. Relations between the two countries have been strained since the Ukrainian President Viktor Yanokovich was ousted this month. Yanokovich a stalwart supporter of Russia is now on the run and wanted for mass murder. These tensions are particularly evident in Crimea, Ukraine's only Russian-majority region, and the last bastion of opposition to Ukraine's new leadership.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Armed men seize two Crimea airports, Ukraine blames Russian forces

Friday, February 28, 2014 - 01:33

Top News »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)