Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

Putin: Russia could not ignore calls for help

Friday, Mar 07, 2014 - 01:35

March 7 - With Russians rallying in support of the Crimean people and demonstrators in Kiev protesting against Russia's military presence in Crimea, President Vladimir Putin says he could not ignore calls for help in Crimea. Jillian Kitchener reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Over twenty thousand people gather in Moscow in support of the Crimean people. Letters on the stage read: "We are Together." Many these participants believe Crimea is Russian land. (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) LAWYER FROM MOSCOW, ANATOLY, SAYING: "I think we need to support (Crimea), because really it is our land, our grandfathers and grand- grandfathers shed their blood there." But in Kiev, protesters gathered outside the Russian embassy... against Russia's military presence in Crimea. According to President Vladimir Putin, Russia could not ignore calls for help from Russian speakers in Ukraine. His spokesman defended Russia's stance: (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) RUSSIAN PRESIDENT VLADIMIR PUTIN'S SPOKESMAN DMITRY PESKOV SPEAKING THROUGH VIDEOLINK FROM SOCHI, SAYING: "What is happening in the east (of Ukraine) and in Crimea does not have anything to do with the Russian Federation, these are not the processes initiated by anyone, moreover they are not a result of certain Russia's actions. Rather the opposite, Russia is the country which was asked to help, and as Putin rightfully said Russia is the country which in this particular case cannot ignore these processes. But the origin of these processes is inside Ukraine." Ukraine's border guards said Moscow had poured troops into Crimea. An aide said there were now 30,000 Russian soldiers in the region. The crisis is being described as the most serious east-west confrontation since the end of the Cold War. Now, Crimea's parliament has voted to join Russia. And preparations have begun for the upcoming referendum set for March 16.

Putin: Russia could not ignore calls for help

Friday, Mar 07, 2014 - 01:35

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)