Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Chinese families want more information after Malaysian PM's newser

Saturday, Mar 15, 2014 - 01:34

Mar.15 - Distraught families of passengers aboard a missing Malaysia Airlines plane ask whether they could have been given information earlier after watch a briefing by the Malaysian prime minister from a Beijing hotel. Sarah Toms reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The investigation into a missing Malaysia airliner jet enters a new phase. The Vietnamese military starts to pack up its aircraft, as the massive search of the South China Sea ends. The operation instead moves to the border of Kazakhstan out to Thailand and also to the southern Indian Ocean. Families of the passengers and crew watched the latest briefing from Malaysia on the disappearance of flight 370. The Malaysian Prime Minister says the lost passenger jet was diverted deliberately. (SOUNDBITE) (Mandarin) MR. YAO, WHOSE PARENTS WERE ABOARD MISSING PLANE, SAYING: "I want to say that I have one big question: When did they really know this? Why are they only telling us this information now? Because this information already came out in Malaysia ages ago, including some information that had even come out on the 8th and 9th. Why are they only telling us this now? Did they know this all along, or did they only find this out now? If they only found out recently, what work, in terms of measures and various aspects, have they been doing all this time?" Most of the 239 people on board, when the aircraft went missing after take off from Kuala Lumpur, were Chinese. (SOUNDBITE) (Mandarin) FAMILY MEMBER OF PERSON ABOARD MISSING PLANE WHO DECLINED TO GIVE HIS NAME, SAYING: "You could say that this is good news. In the overall view of the situation, it's good news. This means that there's still hope that our relatives are alive." These families were hoping to greet their relatives in Beijing last Saturday. One week on and they're still no closer to knowing what happened to them.

Chinese families want more information after Malaysian PM's newser

Saturday, Mar 15, 2014 - 01:34

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)