Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Malaysian PM says lost plane's movements indicate a deliberate act

Saturday, March 15, 2014 - 01:55

Mar.15 - Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak says the movements of a missing plane were consistent with a deliberate act by someone who turned the jet back across Malaysia and onwards to the west. Sarah Toms reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's been one week since a Malaysia airliner jet mysteriously vanished but still the authorities are baffled. The Malaysian Prime Minister said the communications systems of the missing aircraft had been deliberately disabled, after that the plane changed course and could have continued flying for a further seven hours. (SOUNDBITE) (English) MALAYSIAN PRIME MINISTER NAJIB RAZAK SAYING: "Up until the point at which it left military primary radar coverage, this movement is consistent with deliberate action by someone on the plane. Today, based on raw satellite data, that was obtained by the satellite data service provider, we can confirm that the aircraft shown in the primary radar data was flight MH370." The authorities are now trying to trace the plane across two possible corridors from the border of Kazakhstan through to northern Thailand and also south to the southern Indian Ocean. There's been a massive international air and sea search for the aircraft and the 239 people on board, missing about an hour after it took off from Kuala Lumpur last Saturday. But now the Vietnamese military is packing up as the investigation enters a new phrase and the search of the South China Sea ends. The families of the missing passengers and crew are no closer to understanding why flight 370 deviated from its flight path to Beijing. (SOUNDBITE) (Mandarin) MRS. WEN, WIFE OF MAN ABOARD MISSING PLANE, SAYING: "I know that many countries are already trying very hard to search for them, but at the moment there are too many uncertainties and difficulties. I hope that the governments of all the countries can hold discussions on these uncertainties and difficulties as soon as possible and, if it really was a hijacking, decide what they are going to do next. As soon as we have the first piece of information, we will have a little peace of mind. At the moment we just feel so helpless." As the days pass with no word or clues, the wait has become an agonisingly long one.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Malaysian PM says lost plane's movements indicate a deliberate act

Saturday, March 15, 2014 - 01:55

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)