Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Small Business

New procedure a minimally-invasive alternative for heart failure patients

Wednesday, March 26, 2014 - 02:02

Mar. 26 - Czech doctors are pioneering a unique and minimally invasive heart modelation surgery, which is expected to significantly improve the quality of life for patients recovering from heart failure. The procedure isolates damaged tissue from healthy muscle within the left ventricle, leaving a smaller, but more efficient chamber to do the work. Rob Muir reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's a novel, non-invasive approach to heart surgery. Called ventricular enhancement, the procedure is designed to isolate, without removing, the damaged tissue left behind after heart failure. Scar tissue weakens the heart, causing long term and often fatal problems for patients, but by tying it off, surgeons say they can minimise its influence, leaving a smaller, but much more effective ventricle to do the work. Professor Andrew Wexsler of Drexel University College of Medicine, says the procedure represents a significant advance in cardiac care. (SOUNDBITE) PROFESSOR, ANDREW WECHSLER, SAYING: "This is the first time this kind of surgery has ever been done through such a small, minimally invasive, approach." Previously, it was a far more involved operation, requiring a large incision in the chest, and the diversion of blood from the heart to a heart-lung machine while surgeons went to work. The new preocedure is very different according to surgeon Ivo Skalsky at Prague's Homolka Hospital. SOUNDBITE) DR IVO SKALSKY, SAYING: "Our part of the surgery means that we open the left side of the rib cage in a 5-6 centimetre wide incision and using special devices we go through the part of the left heart chamber into the septum and then to the right chamber. There we use another device - a small anchor - which the cardiologists put in from the other side." And when it's over, recovering patients, like 75 year old Jiri Vanek, say the difference is remarkable. (SOUNDBITE) JIRI VANEK, VENTRICULAR ENHANCEMENT SURGERY PATIENT, SAYING: "First of all I can walk much better. My legs are possibly better pumped by blood and I can move much better." Surgeons at Homolka Hospital have performed four of the five ventricular enhancement procedures ever undertaken. Bioventrix, the company who owns the technology hopes it'll soon be available around the world, where heart disease is the leading cause of death.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

New procedure a minimally-invasive alternative for heart failure patients

Wednesday, March 26, 2014 - 02:02

Top News »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)